We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in lovely setting”
Review of King's Head Deal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Head Deal
Ranked #3 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food in lovely setting”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here as a family of six, with two under 5s.
The childrens menu was varied, with our little ones eating sausages and scampi. They had a choice of mash, new potatoes or chips, which is a nice change from just chips.

The adults had scampi, burgers and fish. All dishes were prepared and served quickly enough considering it was a busy lunchtime in summer season.

The pub itself is typically English, with a good range of lagers, bitters and ciders.

We would happily return to The Kings Head if we find ourselves in Deal again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cr1pps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
71
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We overnighted at the Channel View Guesthouse which is attached to the King's Head, a few yards away only. The entire experience met or exceeded our expectations - we wanted a clean, tidy B&B offering good value for money at a good pub with friendly hosts and a sea view - and that is what we got. In particular, Graham, Shirley and their staff were kind and accommodating - they helped with hints and recommendations and always took time for us for the short while we were there. They also asked us if we were satisfied with the room, the food and the service, because they wanted to know, not because they thought they should ask. We ate and drank at the King's Head, both lunchtime and dinner, and the quality of food and service was very good indeed. Special wishes were accommodated by the chef without problems (thanks!). The location of the King's Head and its view over the English Channel are excellent, and parking nearby is easy enough to organise. The pub upholds traditions, is a pleasure to look at, and is very welcoming, with concessions to modern life (eg. TV monitors) available, but customers not wanting TV could find a section with peace and quiet and the TV switched off. The open-air bar section opposite the pub is pleasant and well-serviced. An all-round good experience and we are looking forward to return when we get the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first/second floor are important to those seeking the sea view, although early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the kings head deal for one night on June 22nd. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was spotless and spacious. The bed was really comfy and had a great night sleep. If all this wasn't enough the view from the room of the beach, sea and pier were exceptional! You will not get a better view! If staying in the deal area, you won't get better than the kings head!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamby1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having chosen the kings head as out accommodation for our annual golf tour, I have to say the welcome and level of service was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and to be able to easily cater for 16 men who have been hacking around golf courses all weekend was a tremendous effort. Would wholeheartedly recommend this to any one intending on visiting this part of the country as a ace to stay. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manorhousefelpham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a lovely relaxing lunch here, with the always friendly staff. Fish and chips was devine. the staff - all of them are great and who ever posted the review last week about the crusty mature woman, clearly doesn't have a sense of humour! ....she is a blast and if we met in a dark alley we'd have such a laugh......maybe you weren't a polite customer? Because all of the staff here are lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dormouse65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in the guest house a few doors down from the pub. Breakfast (served in the pub) was huge. Staff were very friendly. Our room had lovely sea views, and was nicely furnished. Good location for visiting surrounding attractions

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Beautifully located right on the sea front, in the middle of town this classic old pub is just right for a short break. The owners and staff are extremely friendly, the quality of the food is excellent; the rooms, whether in the main building or the annexe two doors along, are clean, tidy, and perfectly functional.
The same group have been coming back here for some seven years on a golf trip; and many of us have also been down here at other times with our better halves.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PresidentSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number One B&B
Number One B&B
#1 of 13 in Deal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Deal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Deal

Property: King's Head Deal
Address: 9 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Deal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your King's Head Deal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Deal Hotel Deal
King's Head Deal Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing