We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of King's Head Deal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Head Deal
Ranked #3 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Friendly staff, great room with sea view, live music, super breakfast. What more could you want!!
From the moment we walked in we felt at home in this lovely traditional pub.
Thanks. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
71
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In the centre of Deal, The Kings Head and Channel View apartments sits between two other hotels. This one though should be tried for a number of reasons - the welcome is wonderful, the cooked English breakfast which comes with the room cost is fresh, hot and tasty and the rooms are clean and have all the facilities needed including tea making and hot showers. Be aware though, as it is in centre of town, it can be noisy as the pubs empty out. Channel View apartments are preferable to a room in the pub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Channel View apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Looking for a one night stay before our return home we came across the Kings Head. A pub with accommodation. Room 1 on the first floor had a king and single bed with a seaview. This family room was clean and spacious and nicely furnished. In comparison, the en-suite was rather compact and although clean looked tired. The breakfast was adequate although felt rushed. No onsite parking available but there is a car park just around the corner. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would return to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 303littlehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for a meal on Saturday 5 July, service was slow and the food cold, when complained I was told they were busy but would make note for future reference!! They were not that busy, in fact they were standing talking among themselves.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a great pub in one of England's best coastal towns, made to feel welcome from the off, sitting outside on a Sunday listening to the live music was a big bonus. Sky sports inside and Sunshine outside. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Sea view obviously!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here as a family of six, with two under 5s.
The childrens menu was varied, with our little ones eating sausages and scampi. They had a choice of mash, new potatoes or chips, which is a nice change from just chips.

The adults had scampi, burgers and fish. All dishes were prepared and served quickly enough considering it was a busy lunchtime in summer season.

The pub itself is typically English, with a good range of lagers, bitters and ciders.

We would happily return to The Kings Head if we find ourselves in Deal again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cr1pps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We overnighted at the Channel View Guesthouse which is attached to the King's Head, a few yards away only. The entire experience met or exceeded our expectations - we wanted a clean, tidy B&B offering good value for money at a good pub with friendly hosts and a sea view - and that is what we got. In particular, Graham, Shirley and their staff were kind and accommodating - they helped with hints and recommendations and always took time for us for the short while we were there. They also asked us if we were satisfied with the room, the food and the service, because they wanted to know, not because they thought they should ask. We ate and drank at the King's Head, both lunchtime and dinner, and the quality of food and service was very good indeed. Special wishes were accommodated by the chef without problems (thanks!). The location of the King's Head and its view over the English Channel are excellent, and parking nearby is easy enough to organise. The pub upholds traditions, is a pleasure to look at, and is very welcoming, with concessions to modern life (eg. TV monitors) available, but customers not wanting TV could find a section with peace and quiet and the TV switched off. The open-air bar section opposite the pub is pleasant and well-serviced. An all-round good experience and we are looking forward to return when we get the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first/second floor are important to those seeking the sea view, although early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number One B&B
Number One B&B
#1 of 13 in Deal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Deal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Deal

Property: King's Head Deal
Address: 9 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Deal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your King's Head Deal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Deal Hotel Deal
King's Head Deal Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing