We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly left disappointed for the Sunday roast”
Review of 81 Beach Street

81 Beach Street
Reserve with OpenTable
81 Beach Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: 81 Beach Street is our celebration of what makes good restaurants great - fine food without the fuss.A cross between a restaurant and a bistro we offer an eating experience that goes beyond the need for nourishment.Enjoy the simple things of great food, good chat and great people.Fine food without the fuss.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sadly left disappointed for the Sunday roast”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This place has always been our restaurant to go to for either an evening meal, Sunday dinner and even hiring the first floor for my birthday last year. Sadly we were disappointed with the food today. My partners lamb was very fatty so didn't have any meat to it, the Yorkshire was burnt, waited a long time to be served water and the table placement didn't seem very intimate. Where we have never been disappointed with the food before and the ambiance, we may have to reconsider next time for a Sunday lunch. Shame as I have always sung praises to family and friends about going to this place and I hope this was a one off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
81BeachStreet, General Manager at 81 Beach Street, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your Sunday Lunch last week.

I have sent you a private message to try and put things right.

I hope to hear from you soon
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    210
    75
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Friendly; nice buzz; super food”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My second visit and every bit as good as the first. Well-balanced menu offering fresh and tasty ingredients in sensible portions. Enjoyed the parma ham starter and belly pork for main. Attentive and courteous staff who were busy with a full restaurant. Nothing else of this quality in Deal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as good as it could be!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A little disappointed with my meal .as were my guests ,this place has had a good reputation for a long time ,but I fear standards have slipped slightly . Service used to be A1 but has dropped to B3 .food was not the best ,over cooked partridge and calves liver ,and portion size small ( one small piece of liver ). I will visit again just to see if things have improved.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
81BeachStreet, General Manager at 81 Beach Street, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback from your dining experience.

I am sorry that you left feeling disappointed this visit. I have sent you a private message to hopefully try and put things right.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We've been to 81 several times, both in the evening and Sunday lunchtime and have never been disappointed. On our most recent visit the food was excellent, service was attentive but not obtrusive. The only downside - why do some people think it's ok for the rest of the restaurant to hear their talk / shouting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tony-deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sunday lunch with all the trimmings!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Booked for Sunday lunch at this friendly nearseafront restaurant..could only fit us in aT 3.30 so we were a bit apprehensive that we would get the leftovers..dried up yorkshires etc..! But no! After a short wait at the table where drinks were brought promptly to us we enjoyed a delicious fresh plentiful roast lunch each; two roast beefs and one butternut squash bake with steaming bowls of varied veg, lovely mashed swede carrot, cauliflower cheese...even roasted red onions and yorkshires and stuffing! As this was a 2 course set lunch We were offered the dessert menu which I didn't think I could manage after being so greed y with my main so we ordered our 3 with a view to sharing...all the puds were light, beautifully presented and very tasty ....there was also a cheese board option that looked very nice at the next table so if you can manage it , go for it! Good value, lovely friendly service..gets busy so book....weekday special menus look fun too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Estella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 81 Beach Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing