We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little old fashion but good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkerley's Restaurant

Dunkerley's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Dunkerley's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A little old fashion but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Been here twice----in January and February 2014. Competent cooking but not outstanding. Good service,excellent rump of lamb with ratatouille , tasty Dover sole and excellent tarte tatin. Not so good were the tiny sea scallops in that this came with a £5 supplement and all 3 scallops could fit on a medium sized spoon. They were good scallops though. Also the lobster thermidore was far from the best I have tasted----far too little sauce and served on a bed of "courgette spaghetti" with pieces of chrirozo. This IMHO spoilt the dish and there was far too much. It was used as a visual garnish.

Good wines by the glass and flute of house champagne good value. The piped jazz CD needed changing. On the 2 visits must have heard the same music again and again.

Please note I have reviewed this as a restaurant and not a hotel.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    108
    46
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always good food served well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Dunkerley's is so good producing the best food deal has to offer, well cooked simple food created
with passion by the owner chef. I have lived in deal for some 15 years and never been disappointed with the food and service

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I came here with friends for my birthday and had the 3 course meal for £28.50. The restaurant was full but we had excellent service and were not kept waiting.The food was lovely and we even had free extras between courses. This restaurant is usually busy which speaks for itself and it is advisable to book in advance, especially on a Saturday. If you want class at an affordable price then I would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Friendly efficient staff coupled with superb food at a reasonable cost.
Very enjoyable experience.
Would recommend a visit to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

we had a quality meal and very good service on a quite Sunday evening. Great wine available in half bottles( I drink red the wife white) The food was excellent the ambiance something special for something special please make sure you go

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnsteel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunkerley's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing