We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and ambience”

Dunkerley's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Dunkerley's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 110 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quality and ambience”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Liked -
We were served with 2 amuse bouches - small cup of carrot and coriander soup which was tasty. apple sorbet - I expected to hate but it was delicious. Very nice touch to bring little, extra, unordered items.
Starters - scallops - nice but £5 extra charge on top of set menu. charred salmon - good taste but portion size very small
Main courses -Sea bass - excellent Dover Sole (excellent but charged £5 on top of set menu
Excellent staff and service
Lovely atmosphere
Disliked - we would have preferred to order 'A la carte' but had to choose from the fixed menu so I was a bit stuck for choice but enjoyed the meal
Portion size of starter salmon - we laughed when we saw how small it was.

Apart from the comments re salmon and fixed menu, we had an excellent time, both enjoyed the meal and the service which was superb and very friendly (not intrusive) and will visit again

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annijes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    119
    53
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford
1 review
“Fantastic evening value for money”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had scallops and fillet steak. Best I've had in a long time and we eat out a lot. Great value for money had a lovely time and staff are very welcoming.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicksadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our second visit after a superb dinner earlier this year and once again we had a lovely evening. Relaxed but attentive service, very affordable interesting food that was well presented and well cooked. I eat in restaurants regularly all over the world and must say this was certainly the best Iv'e been in this year!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lobster thermidor at an affordable price!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very simple menu (two course or three course set menu, choose from four or five starters, eight mains, four desserts) makes choosing easier. Passed on the scallops as we'd already had canapes elsewhere, but the lobster thermidor was divine, as was the dessert. Wine by the glass was excellent and affordable (£4/£5) Pinot Grigio/English Bacchus. Very efficient, friendly service. And we got a table for two (just - it's popular) without booking on a Saturday night. Don't expect huge portions, though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Called in one evening on the off chance of a table. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Had a lovely meal and looking round at everyone else, they did to. I would go back if I returned to Deal. The bar area was very nice

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing