We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blooming marvellous”
Review of The King's Head

The King's Head
Ranked #12 of 110 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Blooming marvellous”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

One of the best pubs in Deal, the King's Head is situated on the sea-front with extensive seating outside, perfect on a fine day. The pub has become part of the Shepherd Neame estate but boasts a wide variety of beers and lagers. The food is generally excellent, although like all bars the wait can be lengthy during the busy summer months. The staff are genuinely welcoming and friendly. There is an extensive display of sports memorabilia, testament to the landlord's sporting youth and the popularity of the place as a B&B during the Open when it is staged at Sandwich down the coast. The summer flower displays are famous throughout the area. A great place for lunch or a drink in the evening after a day spent exploring east Kent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    96
    28
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

As vegetarians, we are used to having little choice, but to find one of the two veggie options was not available was very disappointing. This left the lasagne. The garlic bread was good but the lasagne tasted only of tomato sauce and I left most of it...Maybe we chose the wrong night, but there was no atmosphere either. We won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatchingKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 is just not enough - a true English pub.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The title says it all; we had the special T bone steak, absolutely fantastic, staff were helpful and attentive. If this was near our home we would be their best customer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakes
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fish and chips”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

They realy know how to cook pub grub. Cheerful service from our waitress Hermione. Fish and chips just right, flaky fish and crispy batter and great beer

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosieposielakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly pub!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This pub has lovely food and a friendly atmosphere, I regularly visit this lovely place on the beach! Slightly over priced however so are all pubs!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Jasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King's Head also viewed

 

Been to The King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing