We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable B&B in Deal Center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malvern Guesthouse

The Malvern Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Malvern Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 14 Deal B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B in Deal Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had comfortable bed in relatively quiet room in center of Deal. Breakfast was fine, though the breakfast room itself could have been a little bit more cleaner. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was fine, the bathroom was spacious and the shower was good, though also this room could benefit from a proper cleaning. All in all, can recommend with some slight reservations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
13
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Owners are very friendly, breakfast was massive and very tasty. Good variety of food. The room was good size, clean with a flat TV. A bit further away from the village center (still 5 min walk, ha!) The sea is just a minute away. Could not wish for more! Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had a very enjoyable weekend break here. As others have said, you can hear quite a bit from other people's rooms/ bathrooms, and it's not ultra-modern or posh, but it's fine for the price. Brilliant location, fab breakfast. Clean, comfortable, and owner extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a room at very short notice because my wife had a back injury and was not very mobile. The owners went to great a great deal of effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The facilities are excellent and the breakfast menu is the most comprehensive I have ever encountered in a Hotel let alone a B&B.. and it tasted good. Thanks for making the most of a difficult situation.

Room Tip: Street parking only
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at this charming B&B for 2 nights. I cannot speak highly enough of this place and of Pauline and Derek, they had already agreed that as we would be arriving in Deal early, we could drop our luggage of early.

As for the rooms we booked a double and a twin. Both rooms were of a high standard and they were spotless clean. The beds all very comfortable. Could not complete this review with mentioning the breakfast, 1st class and so much choice. Complements there to the chef, nest eggs benedict I have ever had.

We have already booked again for November. We really cannot understand any negatives reviews of this lovely B&B. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanW2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Malvern Guesthouse was ideal. We had a lovely weekend down in Deal this bank holiday, made even more splendid by the warm welcome we got at Malvern! Lovely sized guestroom, perfect location and an entire menu to choose from for breakfast :) We were stuffed right until late afternoon. Yum! Would recommend to all. We will definitely be back! Jo & Sergey

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jovio4070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

As a regular visitor to Deal I can honestly say this little unassuming guest house is by far the best I've stayed in.

From the offset you are made to feel extremely welcome by the very warm and attentive landlady who greets you with a smile.

The rooms are spacious, modern and clean with all the comforts of home.

Breakfast runs later than any guest house I have ever stayed in and is wonderful. The breakfast menu is plentiful offering pretty much any breakfast dish imaginable.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chisit414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deal hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Hotel
Queen Street Hotel
#5 of 5 in Deal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guesthouse

Property: The Malvern Guesthouse
Address: 5-7 Ranelagh Road, Deal CT14 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guesthouse Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing