We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much more...”
Review of The Five Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Five Bells
Ranked #4 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could be so much more...”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I booked 2 nights at the the Five Bells as my wife and I were taking a day trip to France and thought that it would be nice to stay in the Dover area rather than face the M25 after a long day. The Pub/Inn is easy to find, and got a great welcome from Tony and John. The room 4 which was clean,tidy and contained everything that you expect. The bar is spacious but quiet. The locals do not seem to have taken to having a drink of an evening. The first night we decided to eat in the Pub and the food was OK. The Steak and Ale pie was tasty and my Wife said that her curry was tasty although missing a nan bread as they had run out. As mentioned in other reviews the pub is near the main Deal to Dover road so some traffic noise is to be expected. We were off to France early so we had a breakfast tray delivered which was fine - no instant coffee to be seen.

Off we went to France. Got back in the evening to find that our room hadn't been cleaned, our breakfast tray taken from the room nor the tea-coffee facilities replenished. We fancied a nightcap so I took the 'dirts' to the bar and got fresh cups to take back. Also, my wife wanted a cointreau but they didn't have any and overheard another guest ask for something that they didn't have.

I think that this is the first time I have stayed anywhere that didn't make up the room. There really is a need for a housekeeper. If they are going to rely on guests staying at the hotel rather than drinkers then this needs to be sorted out. Also, I know this is a minor grinch, but the loo roll is the very cheap thin stuff and should be replaced with better quality as so not to use so much!

The breakfast was average. I think that all rooms coming at once meant that it was a bit of a free-for-all and Tony was working hard to keep everyone happy. Again, there were signs of corners being cut (value yoghurts for example, and not butter pretending to be butter) which just taints the whole experience.

I really wish Tony and John well as they were both extremely friendly and hardworking but there is still a way to go.

Room Tip: Room 4 is good as it is away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottjobyfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    49
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
61
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

+: This hotel is a good place near Deal and the country side. Room 'dover' is very convenient for a family with 3 kids.
Breakfast is ok and starts at 8 pm.
- : room is near road, so it's a bit noisy with cars passing often

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolpaul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I booked “The Five Bells” for a 2 night stay. We received a lovely welcome when we arrived. There was no car park but we could just park across the road. Our suite/apartment looked great on the first sight but if you looked a bit closer you could see a lot of dust and the cooking appliances where dirty. The bedroom was towards the road and it was very noisy when opening the window by night. Apart from that – the apartment was spacious, the bed linen high quality and the shower really nice! However, I recommend for the future more attention to detail in terms of cleaning and maintenance of the apartment. We decided to eat in the restaurant on our first night. The cheese board was lovely but my main wasn´t great at all with cold chips (still frozen inside) and tasteless fish. That could be improved as well! We decided to drive to Deal on the 2nd night and had a lovely Indian dinner! Be aware that the included breakfast was just cereals and toast with Jam – the first time I experienced in the UK such a low standard breakfast - but you can purchase a bacon roll or Full English if you want to. We didn´t as we thought it was quite expensive. All in all it was just an average experience I´m afraid. The owners are lovely and the pub very modern and nice. However, in terms of service there is quite a bit room for improvement! Good luck for the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Friendly service and comfortable rooms are simply not enough to tempt us back to this establishment. Their food is a major problem and leaves very much to be desired. As the pub sits in a small village with no competition from other restaurants, we decided to dine in. A big mistake! I ordered fish, thinking it would be straight from the sea, not the freezer. Billed as battered cod with lemon and tartare sauce, it turned out to be plaice with a thin layer of crumbled batter so dry and hard it was difficult to cut. There was no lemon - they didn't have any! - and the tartare sauce arrived in a plastic sachet. This cost £10.95. My daughter's vegetable curry was absolutely pitiful - extremely small amount, tasteless, and served with one piece of dry pitta bread - all for £11.95. Outrageous prices for a complete lack of any culinary competence or effort. After the dinner and a terrible night - noisy voices from the bar and inevitable indigestion - the miserable 'continental breakfast' came as no surprise. Cheap cereals, seedy looking bananas, thin processed sliced bread, weak tea, instant coffee - need I say more? I was amazed to discover that our hosts had considerable past experience in the catering world, so they had absolutely no excuse for offering such lamentable near inedible food. Never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneDBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The welcome was very warm as we checked in. The pub/restaurant is modern, spacious & comfortable. The Twin Bedroom was really nice, plenty of room for two, crisp white linen, contemporary decor, lovely and warm en-suite shower. The fixtures and fittings are contemporary, red accent wall, black runners on the beds. The beds were very comfortable. There was complimentary shampoo & shower gel and fresh white towels. Tea & Coffee making facilities. The hairdryer and kettle were standard sized which I prefer to the mini ones you often get. Large Wardrobe. HD TV with Digital TV. The food was good, mainly locally sourced including the wine & dairy products, the eggs were from the lady next door!
I would definately stay here again. Do not park in front of the cottages, it's private, try to park just outside the pub on the road.

Room Tip: Ask the owners what they have available, there's quite a few choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed in the Dover Suite and was really looking forward to it. Huge disappointment. Bright green light from the fire exit sign in the bedroom shone all night directly into our eyes keeping us awake. We could hear every creak of the floorboards in the room above. The super loud bathroom fans in our bathroom and the bathroom in the room upstairs helped our maintain our sleepless stay. The place clearly advertises it has wifi but we were told when we arrived the reception wasn't good. Too true, the signal dropped so often it wasn't worth using (my phone's 3G worked perfectly tho). The TV didn't work either and there was no radio in the bedroom. The bins didn't have bin bags in them, there was a coffee sachet, but literally just the one. In the morning we were welcomed by 'the manager' in his pajama bottoms and a dirty t-shirt, his finger nails were also filthy. Cooked breakfast was charged extra - £7 extra, we didn't bother. Toast served up with some nameless textured spread trying to pretend is was butter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Purplenaartjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIVEBELLSMANAGER, Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Many Thanks for staying with us at The Five Bells, I would like to respond to your comments, firstly the green lights in the rooms are STANDARD emergency lighting which is required BY law for any commercial property, and in the event of a fire WOULD assist in your evacuation.

Breakfast the next morning the manager WEARS chefs clothing, which are checked in design ( and Not PYJAMASe!! as far as DIRTY, this is bordering on SLANDER and totally unjust and UNFAIR, we have a 5 star food hygiene rating of which we are PROUD OF.

Your room price was £50 per night for a one bedroom apartment, sadly we cannot give everything in the price and therefor cooked breakfast has to be charged for extra.

AS far as Wifi, we are in a remote rural location and as much as we have tried with communication companies to get a faster speed there is very little we can do at this time, again this service is provided FREE OF CHARGE,

The Tv does work and has a Large selection of music and radio channels, therefore a individual radio is NOT necessary.

Coffee sachets you are more than welcome to have asked for more, we are very approachable and pride ourselves in this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I have stayed here several times, both in the pub and the Dover Suite (which is split over two levels and perfect for a longer stay with children). Tony and John are always friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Great mattresses and duvets for a comfortable nights sleep. Showers are lovely and the rooms have obviously been very recently decorated as everything is freshly painted and up to date. The restaurant offers great pub food - my top tip is don't miss the steak and ale pie! They also have muffins for sale throughout the day on the bar if you want a quick snack with a coffee as well as a nice lunch menu. The courtyard is great in the nicer weather. It's a very family friendly place with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. It is fabulous value for money and there are loads of lovely country walks, my favourite is the walk down the bridleway opposite which takes you on a beautiful walk through the woods and down onto the beach at Kingsdown (about half an hour if you take the shortest route). We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high standard but if you want more space the suites are well worth the extra mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
3.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.9 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 13 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Bells

Property: The Five Bells
Address: Front Street, Deal CT14 8HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th Centuary refurbished Bar. Hotel, Located 5 minutes from Deal and The Port Of Dover. Restaurant Open Daily Offering a Full Menu, pizza Menu and Lightbite Menu. AFFORDABLE DINING FOR EVERYONE...... Sunday 12-3 is Sunday Roast and Full evening Menu 5-9.30Pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Five Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Five Bells Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing