We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended ”
Review of The Five Bells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Five Bells
Ranked #5 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival at The Five Bells we were warmly greeted by John who showed us to our room.

The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable with towels laid out on the bed together with Shampoos and shower Gels.

We slept with the windows wide open and were not troubled by any real noise.

In the morning we chose the continental breakfast which was well worth the money.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending The Five Bells to anyone who wants to experience a first class stay close to Dover.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    50
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
63
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, friendly staff. Far superior to the "4 star" hotel we stayed in at Brighton. Rooms were clean and very attractive. Even though it is near a road, I didn't have any problems with road or any other noise and we stayed on a Saturday night with the windows open. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Five Bells for one night, prior to an early morning ferry crossing from Dover. Great convenient place to stay close the port. We were welcomed by one of the owners who was very pleasant and showed us to our room, which was crisp, clean with a spotless en suite shower room. Great choice of teas and coffee with complimentary biscuits - thank you! We decided to have a meal on the Friday evening which was hot, delicious and good portion sizes.

Had a good night's sleep in a very comfy bed and having settled the bill the previous evening, we were able to leave at 6am with no fuss and get on our way to France.

Thank you to the Five Bells, was a great start to our weekend away. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were greeted warmly by Tony and Dave and shown to our apartment.

The apartment is great, a private entrance leads to the comfortable living area with a dining table and fully functional kitchen. There's also a downstairs loo and the stairs lead you up to a double room with en-suite shower room. It was all spotlessly clean. Although we were only there for two nights, the apartment would suit people planning to stay there for longer.

The pub was cosy and has a separate dining section. We both opted for the fish and chips - portions were fair-sized and the food was tasty and freshly cooked.

If you're planning a trip to Kent, we can thoroughly recommend The Five Bells.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balledent, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel was booked at the very last minute on a return journey from France to the UK
It is convenient to get to from Dover only about 10 minutes from the port

The room was finished to a high standard with quality shower gels and the like, but the coffee and tea choice in the room was poor.

However the biggest drawback of this hotel is the noise
Not only was road noise prevalent, but the noise from the downstairs bar was excessive and when the pianist started playing an ad hoc number at gone 10 pm I cold almost hear the keys being struck. Very Poor.

On the upside, the hosts were very amenable and the food was of excellent quality and standard, however there was no option for an early start in the morning so I had to miss breakfast and seek an alternative

Overall, I would stay again, but I certainly would not pay full rate for this nice but noisy hotel

Room Tip: Expect noise. Don't book if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIVEBELLSMANAGER, General Manager at The Five Bells, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many Thanks for staying with us at The Five Bells, Ringwould however I would like to Clarify a few points to you.

1. We are listed as as INN! which in English means a BAR ATTACHMENT, so there will always be a little noise from downstairs in the bar. BUT as a respectful manager I ensure all Patrons have left the venue at 11pm and all NOISE stops, so 11pm i think is a fairly respectful time for all, especially on a FRIDAY NIGHT?? ( so our pianist. Me who wishes to entertain for 10 minutes at 10pm i think is quiet reasonable.. on a friday night..)

2. You Mention the selection of the COMPLIMENTARY TRAY, on it I think you will Find a choice of Nescafe coffee / Decaff coffee and PG Tip Tea Bags, Sugar of both brown and white variety and 2 small biscuits, oh and Milk... do you not think that this is ample for a FREE COMPLiMENTARY TRAY?? at a room rate of only £35!!?? , if however sir you Paid £120 for your room then it is to be expected of other items, But we do have a bar on site as you will know that has every other option that you could possibly want to purchase.

3. As stated on ALL booking sites we offer breakfast between the hours of 08:30 and 09:30, sadly we cannot be awake 24 hours as we do have other elements to this business so im very sorry that we could not honour your 06:45 breakfast..

4. Further adding to noise, we are located in a quite country location, yes there is a main road but it is definatley not busy between 10pm and 8am EVEN less at weekends, but as you say Sir, you left the property way before our 08:30 breakfast time so I not thinking your sleep pattern was disturbed.

Telling people who read these reviews to DONT BOOK if your a like sleeper I find totally dramatic and your comments unnecessary,and I hope people will read your comments for what they actually are.

Once again thank you for Staying with us at The Five Bells, INN, Ringwould
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Have been staying here during the week for some time now for work in local area and have been made welcome all the time.

The Managers Tony and John are hosts and run the Five Bells with PRIDE..

The rooms are above their own rating and the apartments are a must all good value for money.

The food is of great quality and never short of a full plate.

Have stayed in other local hotels and B n B's and would always rebook to stay here.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deal apartment is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great reception at the Five Bells. We were a group of 8 lads needing digs before an early ferry and we got much more than expected. The food is amazing, we sampled both the main menu and the pizza menu and everything was fantastic. Tony and John were great hosts and kept our glasses well filled. Rooms were great, we had a number of twin's & doubles as well as an apartment and everyone was really pleased with the appearance, cleanliness and facilities. We did not stay for breakfast as we had an early ferry but if it is anything like the evening food I am sure it would of been lovely. We will no doubt be returning prior to our next adventure!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
3.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
81 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
303 reviews
2.9 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 13 in Deal
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Five Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Five Bells

Property: The Five Bells
Address: Front Street, Deal CT14 8HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Five Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th Centuary refurbished Bar. Hotel, Located 5 minutes from Deal and The Port Of Dover. Restaurant Open Daily Offering a Full Menu, pizza Menu and Lightbite Menu. AFFORDABLE DINING FOR EVERYONE...... Sunday 12-3 is Sunday Roast and Full evening Menu 5-9.30Pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Five Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Five Bells Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing