We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teas Sandwiches Coffee and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wellingtons - CLOSED

Wellingtons
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Teas Sandwiches Coffee and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The neon signs over counter highlight three staple items, but the café has a kitchen where more elaborate lunches are prepared. The specials were strong in fish but also pork chops, with a choice of mash or chips. There is quite an extensive menu, but as everything cooked is prepared to order, you may be inside for an hour or 75 minutes. The staff are friendly and talk to customers in between table clearing and being summoned to the kitchen. The toilet and washroom behind a sliding door is a one at a time affair. Family friendly with high chairs for infants, and dogs can get a drink too. The lowest level nearest the door can catch a wind or the windows mist up according to outside weather, but a good view of the pier can be had. A few seats outside but not suitable for this day. I spent £13.05 on a two course with rhubarb crumble . and soft ice ream and a large orange, so I would rate my expenses ££,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob W, Manager at Wellingtons, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you Martin for your kind review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    8
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have eaten here on several occasions and the set breskfast is great value. It is very popular for breakfast so be prepared to queue at weekends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 324333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob W, Manager at Wellingtons, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review.
Yes, it can get a little manic at the weekends can't it!
But I hope its worth the wait.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Just Popped In and will Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Whilst in Deal on family celebrations we were walking along the seafront and decided to walk into Wellingtons for a snack and a drink before the afternoons celebrations. The menu looked very attractive with homemade items and specials on boards on the wall. I did my usual thing and asked if the pies were fully encased in pastry like the good old days and the answer was yes. We decided to opt for sandwiches and a drink this time but vowed to return another day to further taste the home made pies. The restaurant was very pleasant with the staff very helpful and the portions of a good size and the prices excellent too .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PETER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Deal cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We come here all the time. Its smallish so coming in at a busy period will always be a hit and miss occasion to fit us all in. It's a good old style seaside cafe and I as don't expect the Hilton my expectations are realistic. As a fussy eater in most restaurants I can honestly say this place doesn't let me down though. Better portions than most. Really friendly and accommodating staff (the main reason I come AND a failure to be would certainly be a reason for me to stop going). A great Deal cafe which everybody should be happy to eat in or just to have a coffee and watch the world go by.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plumpockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great fish & chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were looking for a to place have a coffee, however decided to order a meal and we did not regret this.
Sure, Wellington's does not look too modern, but the quality of the food is what matters.
And i must say, the fish and chips i ate at Wellington's were probably some of the best i already had
Leftover chips were presented to the kids in our party.....which was off course very much welcomed by them.
The waiter and waitress very friendly and in the end we were rather surprised in a positive way about the bill.
In short, a place to remember for our future trips to Kent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abelgiantourist1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing