We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - home from home - totally recommend”

Review of Flotsam Cottage

Sunny sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny sitting room
Deal pier at night Bedroom 2 - view 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Sunny sitting room
Deal pier at night
Bedroom 2 - view 1
View from cottage to sea
Bedroom 1- view 1
First floor landing
Flotsam Cottage
Kitchen with courtyard view
A street in the conservation area
A corner of the courtyard
Sitting room at night
Deal seafront at night
Bedroom 3 with cot
The bathroom
Bedroom 1 - view 2
'Gary Ann' of Deal
2nd floor landing
Deal pier
Bedroom 2 - view 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Deal, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
annieSuff...
suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic - home from home - totally recommend”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I can only echo what everyone else has said - a top class cottage just at quiet end of high street, opposite car park. Very convenient for lovely individual shops/restaurants/seafront (all 5 mins max). Although central it is quiet, and has black out blinds in bedrooms. Our security deposit was returned straight away. There were lots of little extras that made it feel like a warm and relaxing home.

We will be back and will certainly recommend to family and friends.

Very attractive old town, lots to do in immediate area. Loved the scenic unspoilt countryside from Deal via Walmer, Kingsdown and St Margaret at Cliffe. Deal reminded us of Aldeburgh and Southwold nearer home.

Thanks for an enjoyable stay - couldn't have been better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm, space,cleanliness, location.
Liked least: Nothing - the back yard is tiny but we knew that - no prolem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piddingoe...
Lewes
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Flotsam cottage for 3 nights over Easter. There were four in our party and we all fitted in the cottage comfortably. The cottage was extremely well equipped with towels and linen included. The kitchen had everything you needed, washing up liquid, tea towels, dish washer tablets. It was a real treat to have a real fire in the wood burner and the first basket was free. The beds were very comfortable.
The position of the cottage is perfect, just a few minutes from the sea, car park opposite where they have a lovely market on a Saturday. Lots of pubs and shops on your doorstep.
Deal is a real hidden gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet H
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“THE DIAMOND STANDARD”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Two years ago we stayed at this house. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to make a return visit this year too!
As before, the property was immaculately clean and well maintained.
In fact the bathroom is lovely, and has been redecorated .New fixtures and fittings ,including a wonderful shower!
This home from home sets a high standard to beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house feels so homely.
Liked least: Having to go back home after the holiday!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatchingK...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and very comfortable”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Flotsam Cottage. It's in a very good position for walking along the beach, exploring the interesting shops and having a coffee and cake!
We could hear the sea from the small courtyard and could watch the world go by from the living room. We also had very good nights' sleep.
hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonnie14
london
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave !!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in this fab cottage for 3 nights ...Very last minute booking but the welcome and attention to detail was outstanding....Alan met us at the cottage showed us all around and gave great information on places to eat and visit..Fresh flowers in the lounge,cookies, milk ,tea and coffee all there ready and waiting for us ..Flotsam Cottage had everything you would need..So clean and cosy which made this a lovely home for our stay ..Deal is a friendly place with lots to do and see. Wide range of places to eat and drink all we tried were of a very high standard...We very much hope to return to Flotsam Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful character cottage, close to the sea with very welcoming owners.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I recently stayed for the third time at the cottage with my mum. The cottage is a home-from-home, comfortable, light and airy with spacious but cosy bedrooms. It is well maintained and extremely clean. It's position is ideal with a two minute walk to the sea front as well as being at the interesting end of the high street with a good selection of individual shops. Kate and Alan are always welcoming and are a mine of Information about the local area. They live close by which is useful if you need anything. Mum and I will be going again next year. It is great value for the money we paid and we love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to shops and sea. The fact it is so light and airy.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sgv2013
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Really lovely!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We ( my husband, toddler and I) stayed at flotsam cottage last week. It was ideal for us- a beautiful, clean, well positioned cottage. Deal itself was great with lots to keep us busy for a week and lovely places to eat out. Alan and Kate are friendly, helpful hosts. We'd love to stay again. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing