We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Centrally located in good condition”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Flotsam Cottage

Sunny sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny sitting room
Deal pier at night Bedroom 2 - view 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Sunny sitting room
Deal pier at night
Bedroom 2 - view 1
View from cottage to sea
Bedroom 1- view 1
First floor landing
Flotsam Cottage
Kitchen with courtyard view
A street in the conservation area
A corner of the courtyard
Sitting room at night
Deal seafront at night
Bedroom 3 with cot
The bathroom
Bedroom 1 - view 2
'Gary Ann' of Deal
2nd floor landing
Deal pier
Bedroom 2 - view 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Deal, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Roam31396...
1 review
“Centrally located in good condition”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The house was as advertised, it is close to the prom and the high street which feature many pubs and eateries. The host was excellent and recommended places to eat which was really useful. The house was well appointed and clean

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance W
1 review
“A comfortable cottage close to the sea front and all amenities of the town.”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Flotsam is in an excellent location.....close to bars, restaurants, shops and the sea front. There are good walks along the coast in both directions. The house itself is warm and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauline s
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Charming cottage, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Lovely light bedrooms and very well equipped with books, hairdryers, hot-water bottles, all you need in the kitchen etc. and a helpful owner. Perfect location at the quiet end of the High Street in the conservation area and only a short walk from the train station for non-drivers. Cottage is opposite the Saturday market, just two minutes from the sea, great old-fashioned pub round the corner, plus various charity shops and two wool shops!. There are plenty of good coffee shops close by, it's very near to the Astor Theatre, Linden Hall Art Gallery, charity shops, great delis and much more. Thoroughly enjoyed my week and hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas R
1 review
“Flotsam Cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A very comfortable well equipped cottage. Very convenient for shops and beach.
We liked all the art work in the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Class. No regrets.”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here for a month, alone and with two friends. Deal is a quiet and charming town with a bit of seaside fun attached and there are more than enough neighbouring attractions. Also London is around 90 minutes away from Flotsam cottage's front door.
The cottage is an excellent place to stay. V. near beach. V. near high street shops. V. near railway station and two major supermarkets. And yet v. quiet. Cottage's facilities are excellent. Can't think of anything to complain of, or ask for improvement in. Except perhaps the sharpness of the kitchen knives but this is almost universal in holiday rentals. Some kind of (justified?) fear exists perhaps that good knives will be stolen, I suppose. I was a little worried before arriving that the position of the living room (right on the main street) would be a problem, with people staring in. It was rather the reverse, with me staring out at unaware passers by.
So, thank you Alan and Kate. Full marks.
P.S. Forgot to say that the living room acoustics are fantastic. The stuff on my iPod (fitted into the simple player provided) sounded fresh and young again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Hello Martin

Good to hear that you arrived back in Japan in one piece. Hope your wife is now better and maybe we will meet her next time. I'm sure you're young enough for many more visits to the UK and maybe even Deal. Glad you liked Deal; it is certainly growing in popularity but we hope it still stays small and friendly. Take care.

Regards
Alan & Kate
Flotsam Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Hello Mark & Janet
It was good to see you again and even better to hear that you are still enjoying the delights of Deal and the Kent coast. We hope that there was enough to keep Richard and little Sam interested and maybe next year you might even return with your new grandson?
Best wishes - Alan & Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clayres
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Visited Deal as I was born here and moved when I was very young, so wanted to explore the area. Travelling with my Mum, husband and 2 children, 7 and 4. House was great, as two bedrooms on top floor, so we took this floor, leaving my mum on 1st floor. Meant we were not on top of each other. Had everything we needed and had an enjoyable stay. Very comfortable. The only issue we had was that there was only seating for 4 in lounge, and with 5 someone had to sit on dinning room chair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint, lovely house
Liked least: Not enough chairs for 5 in the lounge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing