We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for our 7 year anniversary! Lovely quirky old building with varying sloping parts! Staff were wonderful and had a sweetness not found in cities or major chains. Gorgeous bar where we sunk many bottles of fizz and had a laugh. Gorgeous sea views as I'd requested. Free WiFi!

Breakfast was excellent - as I looked out I saw a lady riding past on a bicycle with the wind blowing up her skirt! Made me smile and just the view I want out my breakfast window when I retire! Would absolutely stay again and almost certain to next year to! Thank you Royal Hotel for a great stay!

N.B Only complaint would be that the blinds in our room were un-hemmed which made me want to re-hem them as you could see the pinhole pricks where the threads should be. Taking the historical part a bit too far I felt!

Room Tip: Request a Sea View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank st5om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    170
    61
    25
    22
See reviews for
106
263
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hotel overall is a lovely historic building, staff seem well trained. Management to be honest seem not very interested in individual guest needs, and appear dismissive when requests are made to them. Big problem is the parking - £9 for a day, we outstayed our paid parking by 4 minutes and received a hefty fine. Better hotels, with better customer service, in the region, is our honest view.

Room Tip: If you do stay, choose a balcony room at the front of the hotel - lovely views of Deal beach and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EuroTrav_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Sorry but I would have to disagree with the other reviews. We stayed on Friday night in an executive room (Merton room). The room was excellent with a fantastic bathroom - shower, tub, two hand basins and two hot towel rails. We overlooked the sea and were a bit concerned that we may have been disturbed by the noise from the pub itself, but never heard a thing. The food was very good and the breakfast was exceptional - praise to the morning chef! All the staff were really friendly, especially the reception area. If we had to find fault, it would be to get some coving for the bathroom to finish it off nicely and to invest in new non slip mats for shower, ours, though very clean, was terribly faded and therefore off putting - come on guys, we are talking about £10.00 here!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room overlooking the sea, some have balconies which would be fantastic in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked this hotel for my parents for at stay at the end of 2011. We all extremely disappointed with the experience and would hesitate to recommend the Royal to anyone in the future. Reception was extremely hit and miss and we had to search to find some one to deal with my parents' check in. The breakfast was pretty awful too and any requests were not dealt with within an acceptable period of time. The room itself was adequate but for the price was nothing very special. All I can say is disappointing which is a pity for the main hotel in a very vibrant and up and coming seaside town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaversnCallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just a night's stopover with grown up family but we were made very welcome by friendly and attentive staff. Superior rooms are enormous, reasonably appointed, with huge bathrooms too. Beds were comfortable with nice bedlinen. Good facilities all round with an excellent breakfast ... even if we did have to wait for the toast!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, there are three rooms with verandas overlooking the sea .... just a bit too mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I was in Deal visitng my aunt with lots of things to do during the day. This was chosen by pot luck. I was on the third floor facing the town. There was no lift but the assistant manager offered to carry the bags up the steep stairs which was much appreciated.

The room was spacious with a good bath. It took a bit of time to sort out the radiators which were neccesary as it got colder during the stay. The old sash windows were not very friendly and single glazed.

The hotel is run by the Shepherd Neame pub group and has been well maintained. The historical artifacts and pictures are especially interesting and they make much of the town's association with Admiral Lord Nelson.

The evening menu was basic pub grub, possibly with an A* for a pub but still pub food. I got the impression that much had been cooked in the morning and microwaved to order in the evening. I may be wrong but had it not been so cold and windy on the second evening I think I would have ventured out in search of an alternative.

However the breakfasts were excellent and I enjoyed a good creamy porridge on both mornings plus kippers and scrambled egg and smoked salmon on successive mornings.

There is a wonderful sea front bar that looks out onto the sea. On a warm summers' evening a seat by the windows must be a real joy. Alas in January the room feels cold and drafty. The radiators were certainly not on at full blast, though the staff assured me that that was as high as they went. I ended up having dinner in the entrance lounge on the second night. Not very welcoming, but much warmer.

if i were in Deal again I would stay at The Royal but eat elsewhere in the morning returning to the well stocked and well run bar for a nightcap.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntys_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of January and can say that the public areas are nicely maintained, lots of staff on site and all staff very nice, corteous and helpful. We had a room on the third floor (town view) and that was definitely not something to get excited about. Although large and clean it definitely lacked in many areas. Half a pelmet was hanging off one of the windows, one of the walls had a lot of paint flaking off it. The bath panel had come lose and somebody had pushed it in so it showed a big gap. there was no hot water to be had, no matter how long we kept it running it only got to a very tepid lukewarm. However, the drains were very entertaining in gurgling non stop from the bath when the sink was being used. there was a distinct lack of shelves to put anything on in the bathroom and the floorboard were loud and creeky. On the plus side though, the bed was very comfortable and a good picture on the flat screen tv with pleasant sound. The Breakfast wasvery tasty and plentiful. Speaking with other people in our party, one must definitely stay in the "balcony rooms" as those guest had only praise for the rooms. At a £100 a night I would have liked a bit more. Would I stay again? Only if all other options in Deal are full.

Room Tip: choose the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
14.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,012 reviews
7.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,229 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
711 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sandwich
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing