We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Every member of staff has a smile on their faces - the chef is obviously professional as he/she knows just how to prepare and present the food. The whole team cannot do enough to make guests welcome. The atmosphere is convivial, the rooms delightful and of course being placed actually on the beach, the views are to die for, especially the sunrise in the mornings.

Room Tip: The Wellington Room with its own private balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 734moontid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

At first glance this hotel appears fairly old but well-decorated and tasteful with lots of comfortable seating and a roaring fire in the hearth. However, the bar meals are delicious and definitely not 'old school' and the staff are easy to talk to, friendly and extremely helpful. There may be a problem with some mobile signals on the ground floor but that's about all. The room we stayed in was large and airy and beautifully decorated with views on two sides and lots of storage space. The enormous bathroom boasted a free-standing bath, large shower, modern sink and a large number of bottles - shampoo, conditioner, bath/shower gel and body lotion.
We didn't eat an evening meal but the downstairs bar, with views of the sea was warm and comfortable, and breakfast is 'help yourself' cereals and juices with a full English cooked to order.
Definitely planning a return.

Room Tip: We only saw two rooms but both had views across two sides, with lots of light and no noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthSusiEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We booked a room only stay at the hotel in order to be on the ferry crossing doorstep for our early departure to Calais. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff when making the booking cannot be faulted and when we arrived we were very impressed again with the service. The hotel itself is inviting, with beautiful decor. The family room we were given was amply spacious, with a separate area for our 'little darlings' to make their own - including separate flat screen tv. The room was imaculately clean...as was the ensuite. We had a sea view and the convenience of the location for a stroll along the beach or onto the pier made us regret not booking a second night so that we could enjoy this pearl of a hotel. A BIG thankyou to the staff for and we are already looking to book for next year...this time for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Threenotacrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the royal last night loved it service was impeccable breakfast was excellent and the staff went that extra mile which makes a break a holiday.
Thanks for a lovely stay and I look forward to returning next year with the family

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I am a regular visitor to the Royal Hotel, where my stays had previously been a pleasure and something I really looked forward to. I arrived on the Friday evening for a two night stay, I was left waiting for 15 minutes before I was checked in. I then asked for breakfast in my room, as I always have. It is clearly stated in the hotels website and in the guest pack in the room that for a fee of £5 breakfast can be served in the room. The reaction from the manager to this request took me by complete surprise, I recieved a 15 minute lecture as to why i could not recieve breakfast in my room, this tirade took place in front of other guests which made me very uncomfortable. The mananger did then say i could have breakfast in my room but this episode did ruin my visit. My room was lovely but i feel customer service training is required here.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmabroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

This was our fifth visit to the Royal, a hotel we liked principally for the three balcony rooms overlooking the beach making it the best location in Deal. We booked by phone a week ahead and were offered a special room rate of £90 for the night including breakfast and tax. A few days before we were due to arrive we phoned to check if towelling dressing gowns were included. The hotel could not find our booking at first, then said that it had been entered on the system for the night before. But there was no problem, the room was free for when we wanted it at the same rate and the gowns would be provided.
On arrival at the hotel, the booking error had not been rectified, and we were told that we were lucky that the Manager had not charged us a cancellation fee 'this time' as we had been previous customers. Up to the room - Hamilton - where the balcony door had warped and was hard to close, the shower drain was slow to clear and some of the furniture, specifically a low table - was shabby. And the gowns were not to be seen, so we asked for them again. Later that day they had still not appeared, so we went and got them ourselves, although they were without belts.
At 8.30 the following morning there was no hot water, and when we called down to see what the problem was we were told that the boiler hadn't switched on but would heat up in a couple of hours. There was no apology for any inconvenience. At breakfast the kippers were undercooked. And finally, at checkout we were charged the full instead of the agreed rate, and after complaining were told that the Manager had agreed 'to honour it this time'. That 'this time' again. We asked if management had changed recently and were told that it had, which came as no surprise.
Not only were we given poor customer service but there was a more disturbing air of arrogance without apology or any admission of responsibility for the wrongly booked date, the lack of hot water, the undercooked breakfast or the missing gowns.
We hope future management can restore the previous high standard of customer service to the Royal.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Due to the age of the building, the hotel's owners would have to invest a fortune to fix all their legacy issues (e.g. plumbing). The management & staff are doing the best job they can with resources available. The common areas are very tired, but the rooms have been recently redecorated and are perfectly decent right now.

The standard of accommodation in Deal is pretty low, and I feel the Royal hotel would benefit from stiffer competition.

For example, we found it bizarre that there was no room service when the hotel has 2 restaurants! The standard of in-room cleaning was also a little lacking on occasion.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms may suffer from noise due to current works on the beach to improve sea defences. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
107 reviews
7.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
748 reviews
14.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,083 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range: £74 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing