We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Hotel(Deal)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$126
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
US$209
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
US$110
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Pigeons(Worth)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
283
187
69
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
187
69
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony roomlady hamiltonwellington roomshepherd neamelovely hotellord nelsonlarge balconysea viewsound of the wavesroll top bathcar parkthree roomsthird floorfamily roomfirst morningfresh milklovely atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely spacious room which comfortably slept our family of five and even provided hot chocolate to warm up with after our wet and windy walk. Friendly staff made us welcome and food was good in the restaurant. Only downside was room was a little warm and we couldn't seem to alter it but overall was great. We only stayed one night but would happily stay for longer to explore more of the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bli2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff in this hotel couldn't be more helpful and this gives the hotel it's first good impression. I've stayed here twice, the first time I was upgraded to a beautiful huge room with a partial view of the sea and a bathroom to die for, this was to save me walking up another flight of stairs....admittedly it was out of season so all the rooms weren't booked but it was a lovely gesture and very much appreciated. I didn't really have time for a full breakfast the next morning but my coffee and croissant were fine. I visited a second time and stayed in the Wellington room with a slipper bath in the bedroom with a huge ensuite with shower and a balcony to boot (pardon the pun) unfortunately again, in a hurry I just grabbed a coffee and croissant. If you want a romantic weekend away this hotel is perfect but also excellent for business or a holiday in Deal. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarieSmyyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The two of us had stopped before at the Royal and our second visit did not disappoint. The Nelson room overlooks the sea on the first floor and retains its original charm whilst refurbished.
Service was efficient and whilst we dined elsewhere, breakfast was good and varied.Thank you - we shall return1

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MrMrsShaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

wonderful views, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast in bed on the first day with no sun, breakfast in full sunshine on our balcony, so close to the sea we could almost dip our toes in (we had the Nelson room - lovely). Bit tired in places, but that's probably what makes it affordable and with that view, who cares?!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Royal is a wonderful hotel that is both quirky and comfortable. We stayed in the big rooms that face the sea and while they are pricey, they were worth it! The bathroom was big and light and well stocked, and the room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The huge balcony facing the sea was wonderful and could still enjoy it even in winter! The staff are really helpful and chatty. The hotel's pub picks up in the evening and has a bit of atmosphere. The breakfast is pretty good and the location is perfect. I would have liked a slightly softer mattress and the 'easy chairs' in the room were sort of small and uncomfortable. But we love Deal and The Royal only made us love it more.

Room Tip: If you're staying in one of the 3 balcony rooms, don't choose the Wellington - it's closest to the car park and has public access to its balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews