We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Royal is an old hotel that is tastefully decorated, slightly quirky and very comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights in one of the superior bedrooms that face the sea. The bedroom and bathroom were large rooms, well decorated and well stocked and clean.
There was noise from a kitchen fan attached to a wall immediately outside our room. This kitchen extraction unit was on from 07.00 until 22.00 each day. We reported this noise to the duty manager who gave us a number of options, we were happy with the way our complaint was dealt with and the fan was switched off early in the evenings following this. The hotel is in such a great position and it was really special to wake up and hear the waves from our room.
I found the staff to be courteous, kind and helpful. They appeared to take a great deal of pride in their work.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night. The food was well priced, well cooked and enjoyable. The hotel and the bar were busy every night and this added to the general buzz about the place.
There was an excellent choice for breakfast and it was all freshly cooked. I particularly liked the changing choice of cut fresh fruit each morning.
The only downside was the lack of free parking, we were made aware of this at booking and it did not affect us too much. We could definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Magser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    163
    58
    23
    19
See reviews for
98
254
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the Royal for one night in February. It was a great experience and great value. The room was very comfortable and had a balcony and steps down to the beach. It wasn't the weather for sitting out but was a lovely view. The breakfast was superb and we had bar snacks. The staff were very welcoming and it had a lovely atmosphere, not at all stuffy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely hotel we love staying here with our family. Perfect location right on the sea front. Can't wait to go back again. There was a little problem with hot water that I hope they have sorted out by the time we go back. Friendly family hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyandBenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Weekend stay for two with our dog - couldn't have picked a better place. Friendly staff and good food. Locals come in regularly for a drink and are very friendly. Dogs are welcomed almost everywhere in the hotel. Will definitely be back.

Rooms (some allow dogs) are clean and great value for money!

Room Tip: If you are staying with your dog or not, Bronte room is highly recommended. Sea views and lovely lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely spacious room which comfortably slept our family of five and even provided hot chocolate to warm up with after our wet and windy walk. Friendly staff made us welcome and food was good in the restaurant. Only downside was room was a little warm and we couldn't seem to alter it but overall was great. We only stayed one night but would happily stay for longer to explore more of the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bli2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The staff in this hotel couldn't be more helpful and this gives the hotel it's first good impression. I've stayed here twice, the first time I was upgraded to a beautiful huge room with a partial view of the sea and a bathroom to die for, this was to save me walking up another flight of stairs....admittedly it was out of season so all the rooms weren't booked but it was a lovely gesture and very much appreciated. I didn't really have time for a full breakfast the next morning but my coffee and croissant were fine. I visited a second time and stayed in the Wellington room with a slipper bath in the bedroom with a huge ensuite with shower and a balcony to boot (pardon the pun) unfortunately again, in a hurry I just grabbed a coffee and croissant. If you want a romantic weekend away this hotel is perfect but also excellent for business or a holiday in Deal. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarieSmyyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The two of us had stopped before at the Royal and our second visit did not disappoint. The Nelson room overlooks the sea on the first floor and retains its original charm whilst refurbished.
Service was efficient and whilst we dined elsewhere, breakfast was good and varied.Thank you - we shall return1

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrMrsShaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
7.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
14.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing