We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff and wall facing room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff and wall facing room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Service is beyond belief, we've been promised sea facing room,instead given wall facing room and busy road,so you can't open the window.Staff is very very rude,when you ask them something they just say what do you expect?! never will stay here again
Window was broken,no WiFi,however been promised.
No parking,off street parking outside is redicilously expensive.
Please avoid this place

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    158
    53
    21
    16
See reviews for
91
246
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed with you as a special birthday getaway.Lovely hotel ,our room was spacious and spotless.The staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was great but evening menu slightly limited.
We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brigitte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

An excellent place to stay. We had the Wellington Room. With a balcony overlooking the beach. The evening meals in the bar and restaurants were delicious. Enjoyed the facilities of the room, which was well serviced.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get The Wellington room. Worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Guidewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely hotel , Deal town a bit limited in decent eateries !!
But lovely to go back to the town I grew up in as a child . The surrounding villages are interesting too. Go to Deal and stay at the grand hotel , I'm certainly going back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMRidgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was one of a dozen or so 40-50 somethings that pitched up very recently needing a comfy bolt hole, car park, good breakfasts and not more than a 9 iron flick from good beer! Yes - a golfing break in Deal. The Royal has it in spades - ok so you have to pay the odd quid for the car park now and again. So what! at least it was never full and adjacent to the hotel. The staff were friendly and there was a very pleasant relaxed mood to the whole place. I shared a bedroom overlooking the sea and the views were fab, even if the gulls took a bit of getting used to! The breakfast were tasty AND huge and we bespoked like mad just to fit into our golfing shorts each day. The hotel itself is a throw back to earlier times with creaky floorboards and uneven stairs and some tatty parts but that is it's charm. Much better than a sterile characterless motel I would suggest.
Deal is a cool little place too. Check out the nearby microbrewery pub "Just Repose" - it was once a butchers shop and the owner is rightly proud of what's there which is a lot, or The Ship (backstreets) both favourite haunts and stocked to the gunnels with fine old foamer. The golf courses are nearby and with few exceptions of the highest quality which further added to the experience of Deal. But it was the hotel that we returned to each day that was central to the whole experience and so to the staff I simply say "well done my stay was exceptional, thanks!

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlymouthDavenDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed two nights in April, having never been to the area before. The hotel was welcoming, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our bedroom, though facing inland, was spacious, well-appointed and comfortable with a very good bathroom.
The Royal has a good "atmosphere", good breakfasts and bar or restaurant for evening meals.
Lots of history in the area, Walmer Castle and Richborough Roman fort, Sandwich, and lots of sea air and walking along the coast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooney_peterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Selected this hotel due to all of the brilliant reviews on Tripadvisor.
However, although our room looked from the outset to be perfect, on closer inspection it didn't come up to the standard that we had been led to believe we would be getting for what we had paid IN ADVANCE for.
Our room was positioned on the north East corner overlooking the promenade and the adjacent road. As the windows are not double glazed the noise from the traffic until late at night and then from early in the morning did not bode for a peaceful nights sleep. The view over the prom was marred by the sight of workman's shacks and metal barriers. There was work being carried out on the beach with lorries rattling up and down the adjacent road!! The aforementioned shacks had some sort of generator humming away all night, so to have a window open with this directly below was not possible.
There were other little things in the room, which although was clean, we felt had quite a few maintenance issues.
The little window seat cushion was not fixed properly and when we were trying to place it back on it's fixings we discovered bits of builders rubbish and rubble thrown inside.
Now to the other aspects which we thought could be addressed....
The menus on the tables were sticky and filthy. As were the tables!
The glasses that we were served drinks in, were not clean.
We decided not to eat in the bar area or the restaurant as we happened to view the kitchen and the goings on where food was being prepared...yuk.
When visiting the toilet we noticed one of the young girls who was serving food, picking at the spots on her face....grim to say the least.
BREAKFAST!! well.....we had to eat in another area away from the restaurant as we had our dog with us. We were assured by the check in lady that a table would be laid up for us ready. This was not so. We came down to breakfast, chose a table and sat down. We waited and waited and waited. Staff walked past us...no acknowledgment. We had to go to reception to remind them that we were guests etc etc. another 10 minutes went by before someone decided to come to lay our table and ask if we wanted tea or coffee. We were also asked if we wanted toast, which we did. There seemed to be no interest in us as guests at all. We were not told that we needed to go to the restaurant to help ourselves to cereal etc....(at the other side of the Hotel!)
Our tea and coffee arrived along with the toast. Staff were walking back and forwards past us. Not one asked if we would like to order a cooked breakfast. We had to shout to a young girl in the bar to ask to order a breakfast. 40 minutes had passed by then!!
We drank our tea and coffee, had a slice of toast. Another 20 minutes passed and then thankfully our breakfast arrived which was surprisingly very good. However, by then, the tea and coffee were stone cold and the toast was cold and hard.
We have to say that some of the staff were extremely helpful on arrival with help on a supply of soya milk. But, as they were not around the next day at breakfast, things seemed to slip a bit where customer service was concerned. Speaking of soya milk....when asking for this at breakfast, it came served in a huge gravy jug!
As you can guess by this review, we don't have a desire to revisit this hotel at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18Tryagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
7.5 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing