We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and very friendly welcoming staff”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the rooms with a balcony which is just yards from the sea. The hotel is old and they have managed to keep the character of the building while still making it comfortable and homely. We loved sitting on the balcony and looking out at the sea, the promenade and the pier. Deal has a rowing club and we saw lots of related activity on the beach and in the water plus brave people taking dips in the sea. It was very clear and we even saw the French coast as well as ferries going in and out of Dover.
The hotel is built in the middle of the promenade and right next to the pebble beach. We were offered breakfast on our balcony and this was wonderful. There was a heater on the balcony so you could comfortably sit there whatever the weather. We chose our breakfast the night before and it was delivered up to our room at the agreed time each morning. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of cooked options plus lovely fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal, waffles, toast etc. The bed was huge and very comfortable and as well as a kettle there was a lovely coffee machine in the room.
We ate in the bar and the food and service were good. We enjoyed the beer selection too.
All the staff without exception made us feel very welcome and were very helpful and kind. We had an extremely enjoyable few days. I would love to return and explore the area more and I would definitely stay at The Royal again and in a room with a balcony.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are worth the money for the wonderful view and definitely have breakfast on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here over the weekend, had a lovely room, the food was good and the staff were very
helpful. The location was great with views to the sea. The only problem we had was the small car park which can fill up quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit Deal and chose to visit The Royal Hotel because we had a Shepherd Neame birthday voucher to use and we were really impressed. Very friendly polite staff. The look of the Hotel was lovely! Food was really enjoyable we couldn't complain at all. Well worth a visit and we shall return as really enjoyed eating there. Shepherd Neame have a Birthday Club you join the club and receive a buy one get one main meal free to use around your birthday. Well worth joining !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank honeypotkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First time back to the Royal Hotel for a while. Beautiful day, nice staff, great pint of Masterbrew, nice lunch, but who on earth had the idea to replace the nice tables and chairs with crude benches all lined up like a school dining hall? Awful. Had one pint, one course and went somewhere more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Its not very often that you get the chance in England to be so close to the waters edge in a hotel room. We had a great time exploring Deal and its history, great coffee shops and restaurants. Sarah, Katie, Cathy and the rest of the team really looked after us and Sarah's knowledge of the area was Baedeker like - pointing us in the direction of the many places to visit whilst using Deal as a base. Then to have a few drinks in the excellent bar before retiring to bed and falling to sleep whilst listening to the waves breaking made for a great stay.
Dave & Su Wilson

Room Tip: Rooms on the front facing the sea are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room was amazing and staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble. I can't remember thier names now but two female managers were excellent even put champagne and chocs in our room as requested by my future mother in law and keeping it a surprise. The food was excellent and bed so comfy, I would defo recommend to others and I would love to return again x

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayley498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a great stay here. We had the William Pitt room which was huge, with a fantastic bath room. Breakfast was great & the bar was nice place to enjoy a view of the beach.
We'd stay here again as we have family in the area & this give us a good base.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Deal
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
794 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
7.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Beach Street, Deal CT14 6JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range: £89 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Deal
The Royal Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing