We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£176
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£176
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£159
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Susan M

This stay was meant to be a belated birthday treat with friends, but was totally spoilt by the room.

Review of Royal Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2023
Paid £160 for one night, room was shabby, furniture was in poor condition, scratched, worn, knob missing. Bathroom tiles needed re grouting and had areas of mould. Bath panel had filler and cardboard protruding out, the sink plug hole was rusty. The bath enamel was damaged, with a chunk out of it. The window sills in the room had a lot of pealing paint, and had to use a folded towel to keep window open. There were black dog hairs at bottom of bed. The bed itself was very comfortable. The room was above a busy road, with no mention of this on the website. I would have expected better of a room costing this much. I told the hotel staff I was not happy, and followed this up with an email letter of complaint. But the general manager did not even respond to my complaint after two weeks.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: I would say visit the room before your stay. As the room I stayed in was very shabby.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
£99
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Vio.com
    £84
  • ZenHotels.com
    £99
0.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £75
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Vio.com
    £75
0.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£90
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £76
  • Expedia.com
    £79
0.2 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Vio.com
    £120
  • eDreams
    £120
0.2 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
£250
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.7 miles from Royal Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£104
  • Priceline
    £110
  • Agoda.com
    £104
  • eDreams
    £104
2.6 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 4
Booking.com
£90
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £90
  • Skyscanner.com
    £90
  • Agoda.com
    £90
0.9 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Double room
Booking.com
£104
  • Priceline
    £130
  • Agoda.com
    £104
0.3 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£60
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Vio.com
    £60
  • eDreams
    £60
3.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £125
  • ZenHotels.com
    £117
  • Expedia.com
    £125
0.3 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Deal
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
402
247
95
46
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
402
247
95
46
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony room shepherd neame nelson room sea view lovely hotel roll top bath car park family room superb location sea front pay and display walmer castle eggs benedict visit deal stayed for one night following morning fresh milk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Stayed at the Royal from Monday to Saturday 9/10/23. Was welcomed by reception staff. Had a disabled room it was very spacious slight problem with dust but it was rectified immediately.
Restaurant staff ,bar staff ,housekeeping staff reception staff were amazing nothing was too much trouble. Food was lovely as was the breakfast especially porridge and scrambled eggs. Im aware the new manager Scott has taken over he is a lovely man and I think that he shall take the hotel forward . He is knowledgeable on the Royal hotel and very very helpful a lovely young man. We shall return
Sue and Cath

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

I stayed in Hardy room, a standard double room on the third floor. Room was large with ample storage space, a desk, 2 chairs, TV with Freeview. I liked the fact they gave me fresh milk in a thermos for tea and coffee. View from room overlooked the old town, view from bathroom looking along the beach.
The bed was large and comfortable. I had a good nights rest and enjoyed an English breakfast in the morning. Staff were friendly and helpful. Public car parking for 24 hours available outside for £9.60.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank brancobadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 perfect nights here in early September in a feature room. Everything was exactly as pictured on the website.
The views from the room were sensational and we enjoyed breakfast on our balcony both mornings of our stay.
The balcony has a little timed heater for the chillier evenings and we sat out both nights with a sundowner. The timer could be set for a little longer as it only seemed to stay on for a minute or so before you needed to press the button again.
Also agree with others that a fridge should be standard for a room at this price.
The team could not do enough to ensure we had everything we needed. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.
We can’t wait to go back

Room tip: Get Ringo app for the car park Don’t forget your flask of milk when you go up for the night
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2023 via mobile

A fantastic stay the room was amazing the service was the best I received in Deal. Loved the sunrise,breakfast and morning walks. We really enjoyed being at this iconic venue all staff super friendly and very polite. I would recommend asking for a sea view room

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ALEXYPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

I booked a double room as had received good feedback from friends and family. I stayed just the one night and was placed in a room on the top floor with a great sea view. It was amazing seeing the sun rise early and hearing the swimmers taking a dip. Unfortunatley, the window was adjacent to the kitchen extractor chimney so did experience odours when cooking. Although the room was a tad compact it was ok for one person. The bed was comfortable and was supplied with coffee making facilities but no milk was provided. The shower was not performing well with very low pressure and luke warm water. Maybe being on the top floor didnt help.
I needed to check out early do didn't experience the breakfast.
Overall i believe the room required a refurb and to address the plumbing issues. I would not have expected to pay the £210 I was charged for this room.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mikefD3902UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews