We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JEB
Staines, England, United Kingdom

Heavily overpriced for a tired hotel

Review of Royal Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
My partner and I heard Deal (Kent) was a town worth visiting for a long weekend, so decided to splash out a little and pay £330 for the best room we could at The Royal Hotel. Unfortunately it was anything but 'Royal'. Firstly, the hotel throughout is Tired; stained carpets, old fashioned decor and layout. Although the welcome wasn't unpleasant, it wasn't warm either, and for the amount we were paying, I would have expected to be shown to our room - instead we were given directions there (without any offer of assistance with bags!). The breakfast Continental buffet was extremely average; a bowl of fruit salad, juice, cereals and pastries. The cooked breakfast options were pretty good; from full English to eggs on toast. We ordered hot breakfasts each day we were there and although they were edible, they weren't anything to write home about. Unfortunately the breakfast area again was very dated and didn't look particularly clean. The waitress who served us throughout the 3 mornings wore the same food-stained clothes each day, which was not a great advertisement and certainly didn't give the right impression!
On a Plus note; the room had wonderful views out to the sea (as in the photo on the website). However, for privacy you had to draw the curtains as there were no blinds to hide behind. We asked for the tv remote to be changed as it didn't work and that was never done. There was a window in the hallway of the room which had no cover at all, so early morning light shone through (very frustrating). We enjoyed the standalone bath (although again, it was obviously old as it had markings on it), but was nice to have a soak after a day sightseeing.
We do not think the room was worth more than £180-£200/night. A shame, as Deal itself is worth visiting for a night or 2 but no longer.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: There is parking at the hotel (but NOT inc), so ensure you have a valid ticket at all times!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Room 4
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
0.1 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.6 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
3.7 miles from Royal Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Room 4
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 miles from Royal Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Deal
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
404
248
94
48
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
248
94
48
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony room shepherd neame nelson room sea view lovely hotel roll top bath car park family room superb location sea front pay and display walmer castle eggs benedict visit deal stayed for one night following morning fresh milk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2024

Our room was good with a seaview, spacious and a really comfortable bed. The hotel is in a great position, along the prom from the Pier. It has an area of seating out front for drinks/food which is great as it is away from the busy area futher along. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend here and we will definately return.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

May have been fit for Lord Nelson et al once upon a time, but no more. Rather sad and neglected, with peeling paint and leaking gutters. Be warned that the self-operated emphysematous lift only goes to the first floor. The rooms are just okay, beds comfortable enough. Hot water unpredictable, WiFi unreliable. Breakfast is ok - at least they offer things like Eggs Benedict, besides full English. Staff are friendly enough. But all this for £175 + £10/day parking is a bit steep in my opinion. It’s presumably because of its location, which is within easy access of the town centre.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious03482417700
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Such a disappointing stay at this hotel. The room was a letdown as was the bathroom. Very worn chipped furniture, creaking floors, no lift, had to move about in shower to get wet. The bathroom in particular was shabby to say the least. Staff at breakfast with the exception of one lovely pleasant member of staff were impatient and the breakfast substandard. In the afternoon the rooms were cold with no access to controlling the heating.

The bed was comfortable and the flask of fresh milk very welcome.

Room tip: This could be a beautiful hotel but requires a major overhaul.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patatthemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2024

We checked in very easy, the lady on the reception was very nice and asked us, as we were in the Hamilton Suite would we like breakfast in our room, for which we replied that we be very nice as it was our 45th Wedding Anniversary, which the hotel did know because my husband had stated this when made the booking, we went up to our room and it was beautiful, the views were amazing and we were very happy sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. We got all dressed up for dinner at the hotel, which my husband had booked, went down, my husband mentioned it was our special anniversary, was sat in a corner that only I could see out of the window, on the hotel write up states romance meal, well we thought as it is called the Boathouse Restaurant, we will have a Prawn cocktail to start, well it was like something out of the 70s, yes in a glass bowl, the lettuce had all brown on where it had been chopped and left for a few days, the prawns where so small we almost lost them in the most awful sauce, there was a few bits of tomato, no cucumber no fresh prawn on the top, it looked and tasted awful, my husband had the fish and chips wasn’t to bad, I just had the soup, there was nothing romantic or anything to make it feel special for us, we sat for a long time, waiting for our plates to be cleared and to be asked if we wanted any desserts, it was so long, we just went to our room and when for a walk along the seafront.
Had a really good nights sleep, room was lovely, got up at 8 o’clock, sat and watched the sea in our dressing gowns, waiting for our lovely breakfast to arrive in our room, hoping that the food would be better than the night before, 8.45 still no breakfast, so I walked down to the bar where they were serving breakfast in my dressing gown and asked where breakfast was, to be told that had not had our order, I just couldn’t believe it, the lady on reception and gone through it all with us the afternoon before and now they are saying they haven’t got it, yet again a lovely romantic time together gone, went back to the room to tell my husband and he couldn’t believe it as well, he kept on apologising and saying sorry, but it wasn’t his fault, he had just booked this romantic weekend based on the Hotel write up.
Had a knock at the door and a lady, came in with another list for breakfast and apologised, the breakfast came it was passable, with a free bottle of Prosecco, we declined this as we wouldn’t be drinking it, as we were driving home, she said take it with you as a apology.
We came to check out and for the awful dinner we had the night before, the most unromantic restaurant we’ve ever been to, we were presented with the bill. You can’t recapture special moments your life and we both feel very let down.
All I can say is the front rooms are lovely, but everything else was very disappointing.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

As a last minute booking this was a real delight, the hotel, bar and food were all very good, with a lovely top floor room, Hardy. Will certainly return and must mention that the staff were very friendly.

Deal also has some great pubs and restaurants.

Thanks Richard and Karen.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O3027JErichardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews