We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helped me arrange a surprise birthday lunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keep House Tea Room - CLOSED

Keep House Tea Room
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: Welcome to Keep House Tea Rooms located seconds from the beach in the quaint town of Deal and directly opposite King Henry VIII's delightful 'Deal Castle'. Offering a unique tea drinking experience using only the vey best the UK has to offer, with all our tea, infusions and tissanes sourced right here in the UK, which truly puts 'English' back into the 'English Cuppa'. We also use locally sourced ingredients in our delicious home made 'Cream Teas', cakes together with weekly specials, savouries and snacks with something for everyone ! You can even take your cuppa over to the beach with our special takeaway service and enjoy the beautiful view over the English Channel. Keep House Tea Room is available for private hire for small groups to meet or socialise
Canterbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helped me arrange a surprise birthday lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and even suprised me by placing birthday candles and sparklers on the cake stands containing scones and sandwiches while having other customers to serve x brilliant execution and gorgeous food!

Staff and tea room couldn't be more lovely!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva-Isaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely dog friendly tea rooms.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great tea rooms. Very nice food and drink and the staff member who served us was lovely and friendly and helpful. They also allow dogs and provided a free dog chew and a big bowl of water. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank chunkmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Keep coming here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Overlooking the Tudor castle and a short stroll from the beach this is a great place to stop for a traditional tea. The ginger cake is little short of superb. The service friendly and welcoming, and the premises spotless. it doesn't get much better than this!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank You!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just wanted to say a big 'thank you' to everyone at the keep house tea room for helping me to get gift vouchers for a present for someone even though there was a private party on at the venue at the time. it is a lovely place serving yummy food in excellent surroundings. If you visit Deal you must visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MRQPR1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend Keep House Tea Room enough. We were made to feel really welcome by the very friendly staff who were interested in our plans and recommended places to visit. The food was delicious - I had the 'picnic' which I would definitely have again. And then there was the cake........ what can I say! They tasted even better than they looked. No visit to Deal would be complete without tea and cake at Keep House! Thank you very much Ema!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing