We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Kind Of Pub”
Review of The Just Reproach

The Just Reproach
Ranked #1 of 32 Nightlife in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Deal's Micropub. Started in December 2011 we are now firmly part of the Deal community. We specialise in real ales from microbreweries across the UK and have a constantly changing menu. Beers are kept in a temperature controlled room, served directly from the cask and brought to you. We also sell: real ciders; a selection of wines and soft drinks; a limited range of snacks including Kentish cheese; Kent crisps and pork pies from a local, award winning butcher. We do not sell lager or spirits nor do we have piped music or television. Mobile phones can be used to access the internet but a ringing phone results in a fine (money going to the Pilgrims Hospice). We offer a friendly and unique venue in Deal and hope to see you soon.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My Kind Of Pub”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Just Reproach is Deal's micro pub found just off the High Street. A great location for locals and visitors alike to pass away a few hours sampling the well kept quality ales. No mobile phones, darts, juke boxes or gaming machines mean that conversation is a must. Friendly staff and excellent guest beers make this a unique experience in Deal. Check out the barrel room and see how they look after the ale. We will definitely go back there soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    24
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
deal kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Small, cosy with an atmosphere that is a throwback to the good old days of pubs.Superb real ales and cider with a glass of wine for the ladies and yes people actually talk to each other.A must visit if you are in Deal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Awww, what a sweet place”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

So different. Would have walked past this but a local restauranteur recommended it. Lovely genuine atmosphere. No pretentiousness about it. Really good beer and cider. See you next time we are in Deal.

Helpful?
Thank Darren066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stumbled upon this micro pub during a two night break in Deal and visited The Just Reproach both nights! On offer were some of the most interesting and flavoursome real ales and ciders we have experienced, served to you from a back room. Lovely atmosphere in a small, cosy room which encourages a community feel by its layout. Mobile phones are discouraged which was a refreshing change. Samples of ale and ciders were offered to aid your decision. Wish we had one local to us in Essex. If you like proper beer served in a proper atmosphere The Just Reproach is a must!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walmer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Selection Of Real Ale and good company”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The owner Mark will give you a good welcome and chat about the great ales and cider on offer here .This Micropub has enough room for about 20 people at a push ,no mobile phones aloud ,no television just a good old fashioned chat so don't be shy and join in with the others here interested in real ale, there are strict opening times and Mark still rings the bell and closes when some other pubs stay open .Worth a visit if you are in Deal. Some pies on offer but mostly caters for good beer and cider.

Helpful?
1 Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Just Reproach also viewed

 

Been to The Just Reproach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing