We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Deals best chip shop"”
Review of Mario's Fish Bar

Mario's Fish Bar
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“"Deals best chip shop"”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

After trying most of the chip shops in and around deal,i will have to agree with other reviewers that marios is probably the best in deal,i only sampled a bag of chips this evening [20.08.14] but they where absolutely superb!i will be back to try the fish soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dealdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    12
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We read the reviews before coming to Deal and fitted in a visit just as we were on our journey home. We both agreed one of (husband said it was the best he could remember having) the best fish (haddock) and chips we'd ever had - superb fish, excellent light batter and great chips. Haddock was freshly cooked to order and were large portions - will definitely call back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annijes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Probably the best Fish & Chips in Deal”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As locals we've tried most of the Fish & Chip Shops in Deal!

THE OTHERS.....

During our voyage of discovery We've experienced really really small portions (but it's ok cos' apparently they've been endorsed by a super duper famous Chef as fabulous) We've picked up grease laden slabs of batter with fish in them from a local "institution" who after all these years really should know better and We've suffered surly service from yet another establishment (Ooops... sorry that also applies to the previously mentioned institution as well!)

MARIO'S..........

Mario is a great guy who clearly takes pride in his shop and product ( Lesser previously mentioned shops please take note), the Fish is really fresh, the Chips are sublime and a large portion means a LARGE portion . Mario's batter is so good it doesn't even go soggy and stick to the paper by the time you get home!

SUMMARY: FISH & CHIP HEAVEN!!!!!

I nearly forgot to mention Mario even encourages you to phone ahead and order so a piece of perfectly fried fish is waiting for you when you get there :)

The only downside........ Mario insists on taking a day off on Sunday, so you sadly addicts can't get a plateful of fried delightfulnes on the Sabbath.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDealBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT FISH AND CHIPS”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything was delicious, lovely for a snack on the beach, ample portions and good price - even gave me a couple of sausages for my dog

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST CHIPPIE IN THE AREA”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Fish and Chip Shop dishes up the nicest Fish & Chips in the area. All the fish tastes delicious and it looks so fresh. The chips are of the highest quality and like the fish cooked to order. Various other dishes are served with passion. Mario is a Gentleman who, like his wife and Resident Chef puts the customer at the centre of the business. Indoor and outdoor seating is limited but you will receive excellent service - at the take away price!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1PSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mario's Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing