We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRAKE BROTHERS TYPE FOOD”
Review of The Med Bar - CLOSED

The Med Bar
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A new and exciting wine bar and pizzeria now open in Deal. We serve traditional classic Italian dishes and pizza that are made to authentic recipes using ingredients that we import weekly from Italy using our stone baked oven. We are child friendly and have a full menu for young visitors. We serve our full menu from 5.30 on Wednesday (when we have live music from 9pm) to Saturday and on Sundays from 12:30 we offer a unique menu of traditional Sunday lunch with an Italian twist, accompanied by jazz from 1pm. Our wine bar is vibrant, exciting and sophisticated and the place to spend an evening with friends or a loved one. We are available for parties (private or otherwise) - childrens from 4pm and hen, birthday, anniversary, work get togethers or other - also Christmas parties bookings being taken.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“BRAKE BROTHERS TYPE FOOD”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely atmosphere, but the food really was like pre- prepared and not like freshly cooked, think I'll stick to Pizza Hut.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank christineWestgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip M, Front Office Manager at The Med Bar, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear 'Christina'. Your review concerns me greatly; anyone who has actually eaten in our restaurant will know that all the food is freshly cooked on the premises to order. Our pizza and bread doughs are made fresh daily. All our sauces for the pasta are home made and cooked fresh to order as are our our fish dishes and steaks. Would you oblige me in telling me when you visited and what you ate so I may fully respond in specifics rather than in generalities, as your review did not give that level of detail. I would though point out in the strongest possible terms that we do not use any ready made products from the supplier you refer to (or any other in fact); we use local suppliers for meat, fish and vegetables and we import all other ingredients directly from Italy.
All customers are asked if their food is acceptable at least twice per course, once when it arrives and then part way through. To my knowledge, no-one has expressed dissatisfaction to the extent that they would write a review such as yours which is suspicious. If you wish to respond to the points made by me privately you may do so to the e-mail address info@winebarpizzeriadeal.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfecto ”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Having come back to Deal for a short holiday, I was pleasantly surprised to find a new eatery with such amazing food and great customer service.

The food initially took me by surprise by the size of the portions. Admittedly rather small but by half way through it was clearly ample size. Full of flavour and plenty of variety at such a reasonable price.

Phil and Suzanne, the owners, were immediately welcoming and the chef was very friendly.

Thoroughly impressed and will 100% be going back on our next trip to Deal

Helpful?
1 Thank danielmccaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the place twice in the same week. The food is just amazing , service is excellent :) everything is just perfect for a night out with friends or family . Congratulations to the amazing Italian chef . Highly recommend this place .

Helpful?
Thank 489caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I went to the wine bar and pizzeria with my family on saturday, for a welcome home party for a family member who returned from Oz.

The party was great, we had half the restaurant reserved just for us lot. They had music on, we payed for a load of wine, which i guess was free to everyone else. And also Pizza for the guests.
The wine was lovely! and the pizza was amazing!, not only did they bring pizza though, they had home made garlic bread, Lovely warm crusty bread with balsamic vinegar on. It really was great.
It was set out lovely with comfortable sofa's and chairs ect. The staff were kind and helpful!, they also had the football on for us, so we could enjoy the england match!
A great night!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A super 60th Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Look no further than The Wine Bar And Pizzeria for any special occasion that you wish to organise in the stunning seaside town of Deal, Kent. It's true that we have been to this great place many many times before and have left reviews exstolling its many great virtues. But a meal on a Sunday, as fantastic as it always is, is a far cry from entrusting them with your 60th Birthday Celebration. But let me tell you that Phil, Sue and their team, took all the worry away, assuring us that they organise this kind of event all the time, reassuring words indeed and they were right . Some relaxed & brief discussions about menus, drinks, entertainment, expected numbers and we were done, no deposit needed, all built on total trust and total understanding of what was needed to make a good night, a brilliant one. So we arrived at the great day, without worry or fear, that what if it went wrong, because it didn't. The venue was ready the guests arrived, some 62 in number and the party began. With excellent bar service and stunning food, all freshly prepared by their very own Italian Chef and the most amazing live music performance from the wonderful Peter Dinsley, it turned into the most fantastic and most importantly, the most memorable evening for the birthday girl. How many venues would cook extra fresh food for the late arriving guests, not many, I'm sure, but that's what they did, without being asked. They go the extra mile, without fuss and their commitment to ensuring that eveyone is happy, is, in my experience unparallelled in all but the most expensive establishments. Entrust them with your party or special event and I truly believe that you and your guests won't be disappointed and all will go away delighted, as we and all our guests were

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing