We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb cuisine in Deal”
Review of Victuals & Co

Victuals & Co
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$53
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Victuals & Co, we look for the best local ingredients, as well as a few gems from further afield and cook them with passion and care to provide you with delicious and varied dishes. Our menu is small and changes regularly to reflect the seasons and maintain a consistently high quality and diversity. Our team front of house team strives to deliver the best experience, making your visit a relaxing and memorable one. If you love good food, an interesting environment & friendly knowledgeable staff please try us.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb cuisine in Deal”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Starter of Loch Duart lightly smoked salmon with quails eggs and rocket and bean salad. Mains were plaice and scallops on asian noodles, and 28 weeks aged Brogdale rib eye steak with fries and mushrooms, deep fried onion rings and tomatoes. Finished on desserts of chocolate sponge with hazelnut ice cream with a brandy snap and tarte tatin of the highest order.

A memorable meal - delicious cuisine, superbly executed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGERW43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    63
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Intimate, friendly and excellent food and service”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Not being familiar with Deal, we looked to Tripadvisor for somewhere to dine and we were not disappointed in choosing Victuals. The staff were friendly (without being overbearing) from the moment we arrived and the food and service was superb. Will definitely go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtimefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deal, kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another restaurant dimension for Deal”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Victuals has brought another dimension to eating out in Deal. The menu is varied for either lunch or dinner provided in a relaxed ambience. For lunchtime the pan fired cod being a great (and light) variation on cod & chips is a balanced dish whilst the other dishes also offer quality variations using local produce. We prefer to feel sated after a pleasing meal balanced with starter, main course and dessert and Victuals supplies this. The wine list is varied. Andy is a great host. A restaurant for a relaxing meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffreyg743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“This is how restaurants should be”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

From the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left we were looked after exceptionally well. Andy took the time to talk us through the menu, explaining where the ingredients were sourced from and how everything was cooked. He then gave us a quick tour of all the lovely art they have hanging on the walls. The food we ordered was fantastic; seafood starters, (followed by a lovely amouse bouche) pig cooked four ways for me and pan fried cod for my girlfriend, followed by the cheeseboard. Everything was presented immaculately and was washed down with a gorgeous Argentinian Malbec. Nathan our waiter was very attentive and struck the perfect balance between engaging us in conversation and allowing us to enjoy our dinner.

The atmosphere is very relaxed; the restaurant filled up whilst we were eating which added a lovely hum but they have not made the mistake some restaurants do by putting too many tables in, too close together. Everything was very good value too (£40 per head excluding tip).

A massive thumbs up from us, we hope to come back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FBlassberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Must say the owner is great and makes you feel really good and no presure. The lunch menu was perfect and washed down with some excellent wine from very good wine list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Victuals & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing