We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th birthday party”
Review of Sutherland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sutherland House
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“70th birthday party”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel owner extremely courteous and pleasant . Nothing was too much trouble. Evening meal delicious and breakfast equally as good. Room comfortable and pleasant. Will definitely return to see Gerry on next visit to Deal

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    21
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
14
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed for two nights here and what a gem it is. Gerry the owner is very helpful and a great host. The off road parking will be an added bonus on my next trip down in the car! It is only a short cab journey from the town, station and sea front. I look forward to my next stay there. Thank you Gerry!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Well-furnished, large room on ground floor. Comfortable bed. Some road noise all night which would affect a light sleeper. Good, strong shower in very small cubicle. Nice residents' lounge. Charming period breakfast room but breakfast itself merely satisfactory. Welcome somewhat brusque. Over-priced for what it is and where it is. Next time we'll stay at the Royal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wader01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKNH, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I am surprised and perplexed that this review was allowed to contain a reference to another Deal hotel I am sorry the guests were disappointed but as the two hotels offer vastly differing properties and services, it cannot support direct comparison. it is good that a small town such as ours can offer variety in its hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here on on 6th May 2013. The welcome and check in were pleasant and efficient. The room was well appointed and very clean. Everything was in good working order and a lot of care and attention to detail was evident. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a shower with good pressure and a bath.
Breakfast was excellent and nicely served and presented. I would estimate that dinner would be of the same standard. There was well stocked bar and prices for drinks looked similar to those in a pub.
We left some belongings behind which were posted to us within the week.
We will return to this hotel and highly recommend it to others

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnarran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We recently stayed here for one night, i could have stayed longer!. The hotel is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a warm homely feel. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and very good coffee! Will definitely return later this year!!

Room Tip: Front facing room on first floor - with beautiful curtains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Sued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Recently stayed here for one night with my husband and we couldn't fault anything. We thought the hotel and furnishings were very beautiful and the bedroom had all the mod cons for small hotel. The choice of food at breakfast was excellent, even for a vegetation. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siobhanb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I recently stayed at Sutherland House for a few days while working in Deal , and am very pleased that i did so. The house is tastefully decorated , very clean and well kept , and has a very pleasant and comfortable feel to it . The room was also very comfortable with every amenity supplied , the bathroom was very clean and had a great shower ! . I am usually bothered by traffic noise and was slightly concerned that being near a busy road , i might be in for a disturbed nights sleep.But not in the slightest it turned out , i did not hear a thing and had the best nights sleep in a long time , the house is well built and seems relatively soundproof thanks to the quality double glazing . There is plenty of parking , the breakfast is better than most hotels i've stayed in around the world , and every consideration is made for guests . I'm very pleased to have discovered Sutherland House and look forward to a return one day , this is a small hotel for which it is easy to recomend strongly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
526 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
4.5 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
129 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House

Property: Sutherland House
Address: 186 London Road, Deal CT14 9PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing