We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a coffee shop”

The Lane Cafe & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lane Cafe & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 112 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Much more than a coffee shop”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just moved to Deal & of all the coffee bars The Lane is so friendly, the team run by Me-Me is polite, helpful & obliging ! It's a rare gem, it serves breakfast, has a small but tasty lunch menu, is open several nights a week and even has a small cocktail bar! It is the new kid on the block locally, but with quiz nights, dress exchange evenings & guest chef nights it will fast become a real part of the local community.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    67
    25
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little find”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Off the main precinct, The Lane is neatly tucked away from the hustle. On entry, we were greeted by a friendly face and asked our preferred table. All of the staff were friendly, knowledgable and dare I say, good looking! (Male & Female!)
Plentiful choices for both drivers and drinkers with a mouthwatering selection on the menu.
We chose Lamb Gyros and Pulled Pork, amazingly served, ample portions and tasted wonderful.
We wholeheartedly recommend this cosy restaurant to all of our friends and family for a rustic, albeit with modern twist, style of restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stunning full English breakfast, great kids lunch deal, fantastic lunches. Really friendly helpful staff. Great cupcakes. Must try an evening meal soon. Highly recommended :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank small s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ticks all the right boxes!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I visited with my daughter and 2 friends for lunch and could not fault a thing! We were made to feel really welcome; price very reasonable for the standard of food that we had. We will Defo be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenbriancrossland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just lacking something .”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited the lane on a spur of a moment glance at the menu which looked good .

Food was just bland really the burger was tasteless, lacking taste and accompaniments.
Thai dish just needed more flavour - lacking somewhat .

A bit disappointing as we like to support local restaurants .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenuander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lane Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Lane Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing