We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless...”
Review of Number One B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Number One B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Faultless...”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Convenient location for town and the front. Welcoming but not intrusive, delicious breakfast, comfortable and clean room, all facilities including slick wifi signal. Would happily and confidently recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jake_auerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
407
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having spent the previous night at The Salutation in Sandwich which was £215 a night, we thought it was back to normal in Deal. Quite unassuming from street level, once you are inside this B&B is a true delight. Because Number One was busy when we booked, we got their last room which is downstairs and directly opposite the breakfast room. We were told it was on the small side and priced accordingly (£80).
The furnishings were smart, modern and clean. Our host was a delight as was her 'chef' husband. We had a lovely and comfortable sleep.
How would the breakfast compare the the one at the Salutation we both thought?
It was better!
Fresh ingredients (all as local as possible), well presented, filling and hot, served with a smile. We like jams and marmalades to be presented open in a pot so that we can take what we need. No plastic sachets here. 10/10. This B&B is truly superb quality and value for money. Well done.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 I think and it was perfect, if a tad tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediamagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just had the best 4 night stay in this fabulous B and B. Nicky and Mark go out of their way to ensure you have the ideal break, great breakfasts, plenty of choice and all presented to perfection. We had room 4 which was spacious, had everything we needed and was beautifully fitted out. We took advantage of the 4 nights for 3 winter break and were so lucky with the weather, Deal has plenty to offer and our 4 days and nights were fully occupied. We will definately return to Deal and to Number One.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for one Saturday night to celebrate Valentine's and had an exceptional B&B experience. We were greeted by the owner who had to cope with two couples arriving at the same time. She did this with aplomb. We were offered a cup of tea straight away and shown to our very modern and clean double room. The décor and shower were great. The hotel has been decorated to the highest standard. The owner also set up a DVD player for us which was no mean feat for which we were very grateful.
The breakfast was wonderful with locally sourced produce. The apple juice was a favourite and the owner and young lady who both served us were so friendly. You may pay a bit more for this standard of B&B but you get what you pay for here. You may need to be prepared to leave your car five minutes away in a road with free parking with a walk included along the beachfront which is no hardship at all. We will be back!

Room Tip: We recommend Room 3 on the first floor which is at the rear of the property so nice and quiet, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieLou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were privileged enough to experience the most excellent and hospitable B&B, while visiting family in Deal. From the sincere hospitality, outstanding Kent breakfasts, home from home comforts, to advice with local transport. Wow, Nicky and Mark are truly fantastic ! Nothing was ever too much trouble and the warmth and care shown to us during and before our arrival, truly was such a blessing and so much appreciated. Number One B&B go the extra mile and super cede the best hotels and B8B's with a personal touch, that goes a very long way. South Africa

Room Tip: All three rooms that we had were fantastic. If you prefer not to be disturbed when people arrive hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for a weekend (surprise weekend for Husband's birthday) and had a really lovely time. (Well except for my cold - but not sure that I can blame the B&B for that!). I had told them in advance that it was my husbands birthday - when we arrived had left a card and box of chocolates in our room - which was really above and beyond and very lovely. I thought that the room was lovely (we had the one on the top floor), the bathroom excellent, the breakfast very nice and the hosts very helpful and friendly - and obviously very proud of the B&B. I will definitely be staying here again and thought price wise that it was a good deal. What differentiates this B&B is the additional touches and extra thought that go into what they do.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top of the house and it was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked in at Number One after reading the good reviews on Tripadvisor. And they weren't wrong. We had a lovely night's stay. Our hosts were very helpful, and provided a nice quiet room as requested. They were also extremely nice about our little mishap with a black ink pen and a white duvet cover... Very grateful for that - thanks again!

The location was really handy to the main shops and cute antique stores down the high street. The room and bathroom were well designed, and everything we needed was provided, including a great coffee machine! The breakfast was also excellent and pretty much all locally sourced.

Throughly recommend Number One!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZPineappleLumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
75 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
14.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One B&B

Property: Number One B&B
Address: 1 Ranelagh Road, Deal CT14 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Number One B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Number One B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number One Bed And Breakfast
#1 b&b
Number 1 b&b
Number One Hotel Deal
Number One B&B Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing