We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sleep, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast.”
Review of Number One B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Number One B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent sleep, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My title says it all.

A last minute work trip to Deal ended up with the discovery of this wonderful B&B. The couple that run No. 1 couldn't be more welcoming. At the end of the day you are after a great bed, a great shower and then a good breakfast to send you on your way. When you have all of these things, then a WONDERFUL breakfast full of local produce, with friendly yet unobtrusive service then you are onto a real winner.

This was at the higher end of my work budget but I left feeling it was exceptional value for money. Better still, if I head back with my wife it would be the first port of call given the exemplary levels of cleanliness and modern fittings.

I couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linkslad15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
410
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hosts Nicky and Mark, could not have been more welcoming. Sharing their wonderful home with us for 3 nights, we had room number 4 which is in the roof. Very spacious with tea and coffee making facilities and a bathroom well stocked including bath robes, although mind your head! Breakfast was a great way to start our day before going out and discovering the local area. We had the choice of; Fruit, cereal and yogurts with jams and home made compotes, followed by full English, washed down with fresh Coffee and tea. Although the B&B is on a busy road with little time restricted parking outside, if you park just down the road by the castle you can leave it there on the street without any time restrictions and enjoy your stay! We would certainly recommend this B&B as it is ideally placed for easy access to a lovely town. Nicky and Mark went the extra mile to make sure we had a great stay, even ringing the local pub to see if they were showing the football!

Room Tip: We can't comment on the other rooms but room 4 was lovely and spacious although if you struggle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotsstill2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from a mid week stay at the Number One B & B. We really couldn't fault it; lovely, friendly and helpful hosts, Nicky and Mark; spotless, stylish room; amazingly comfortable bed; excellent breakfast; perfect location. This is a true find and we would recommend to anyone wishing for an affordable, relaxing stay in the lovely sleepy seaside town of Deal. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Big ticks in all the boxes for a getaway destination - Deal is on the up and this is an ideal base to check out the progress. A short step from the seafront, handy for the town centre, and offering everything you could ask for - welcoming hosts happy to chat and offer recommendations, well-appointed room with quality fittings and an excellent breakfast, all for a very reasonable rate.
We went from here to the highly-regarded Reading Rooms in Margate - undoubtedly a special place to stay and by no means regretted but nearly twice the price, and for all sorts of reasons we would have been better off sticking with Deal for a second night. Can't say fairer than that, and we will undoubtedly be returning for more of the same.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Convenient location for town and the front. Welcoming but not intrusive, delicious breakfast, comfortable and clean room, all facilities including slick wifi signal. Would happily and confidently recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jake_auerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having spent the previous night at The Salutation in Sandwich which was £215 a night, we thought it was back to normal in Deal. Quite unassuming from street level, once you are inside this B&B is a true delight. Because Number One was busy when we booked, we got their last room which is downstairs and directly opposite the breakfast room. We were told it was on the small side and priced accordingly (£80).
The furnishings were smart, modern and clean. Our host was a delight as was her 'chef' husband. We had a lovely and comfortable sleep.
How would the breakfast compare the the one at the Salutation we both thought?
It was better!
Fresh ingredients (all as local as possible), well presented, filling and hot, served with a smile. We like jams and marmalades to be presented open in a pot so that we can take what we need. No plastic sachets here. 10/10. This B&B is truly superb quality and value for money. Well done.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 I think and it was perfect, if a tad tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mediamagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just had the best 4 night stay in this fabulous B and B. Nicky and Mark go out of their way to ensure you have the ideal break, great breakfasts, plenty of choice and all presented to perfection. We had room 4 which was spacious, had everything we needed and was beautifully fitted out. We took advantage of the 4 nights for 3 winter break and were so lucky with the weather, Deal has plenty to offer and our 4 days and nights were fully occupied. We will definately return to Deal and to Number One.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
4.8 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
303 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One B&B

Property: Number One B&B
Address: 1 Ranelagh Road, Deal CT14 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Number One B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small bed and breakfast establishment in Deal, Kent close to the town centre and the seafront. Within walking distance of the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Number One B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number One Bed And Breakfast
#1 b&b
Number 1 b&b
Number One Hotel Deal
Number One B&B Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing