We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Godforsaken”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queen Street Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Deal
colchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Godforsaken”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I had the misfortune of staying here recently on a golfing trip. We virtually took over the place and even though we were a bunch of blokes just looking for a room to sleep off the excesses of the night and have a wash, this place really was awful.

Positives are hard to find - there is a bar; one night they had Karaoke; the breakfast was ok.

The room was just unacceptably bad. So small that the two twin beds arranged at right angles virtually touched and not enough room to get dressed whilst anyone else was in the room. I saw other rooms and they were similarly inhumane. The linen, floor, bathroom etc etc not adequately clean. I could go on, but it's making me feel depressed recalling it.

I have to admit having an ulterior motive for writing this review; I hope they will be so outraged that our organiser will be refused entry if he tries to book it next year.

Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rikkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    1
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Not only was the room dirty especially the bathroom, but the price of the room was over priced.

There was a group of 8 of us all ordered alcoholic drinks prices are around £4 a pint - £5 for a glass of wine. My fenceé asked for a glass of tap water to take her medicationat the bar, the bar staff replied "no if ur guna stand around here all night drinking water I'm guna charge u standing allowance." And proceeded to charge her £2 pounds.

Overall the pub seemed to attract a ruff crowed, drinks where extortionate, the staff where rude. Certainly will not return and advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deal hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very friendly staff who checked us in we were warned that it could be noisy as there was a disco but as we like to party that wasnt a problem. we stayed in room 1 a lovely clean comfortable room with its own shower room(also very clean). If you like a place with a great nightlife this is the place for you. all the staff were extremely friendly and the bar downstairs fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Wouldn't stop here again. On the plus side of our 2 night stay, the beds were clean and fresh towels provided each day. On the negative side, The shower head was black even after scraping off what we could. No glasses in the bathroom, light over the sink not working (only place with enough light to put on makeup? Backed up to the bathroom door under the only downlighter.) Bathroom floor dirty in the corners, head fell off the toilet brush, black muck fell off the cold water tap when running. I can ignore the noise from the disco downstairs, that was expected and ended @ 1 pm. No secure parking, only the Co-op car park next door or the long term car park further away. Makes you twitchy when you get woken by shouting and smashing glass at 3 am. Personally, my recommendation..find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

best place in deal, music in the pub downstairs. Affordable prices and cleaned rooms. Brand New. Easy parking.

Helpful?
1 Thank kc_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.9 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Street Hotel

Property: Queen Street Hotel
Address: 42 Queen Street, Deal CT14 6EY, England (Formerly Hole in the Roof Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Queen Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Street Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing