We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Jewel in the Garden of Kent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterside Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Dymchurch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little Jewel in the Garden of Kent”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We have stayed here nearly every year for the last 6 years and have always looked forward to the warm welcome and hospitality shown by Ray and Rose. I have travelled to some to of the most exotic parts of the world, but I have to say on a warm summers night sitting by the river and under the pagoda looking out across Romney Marsh watching the vivid sunsets with a nice bottle of wine you are in paradise away from the day to day stresses. The Boys love the adventure and the family room stay. Plus seeing the resident Ducks at breakfast and watching the little train go past reminiscing about my childhood trips on that train with my parents always puts a smile on my face. When life gets too much this is my retreat. Beautiful setting and great hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed for two nights, going to Dungeness on the first day and a wedding at Port Lympne on the second. Room and bathroom were absolutely spotless and the bedding v good quality. Slept very well indeed. Fab breakfast with a nice view. Breakfast does take some time, so allow for that, but it's worth the wait. The owners Rose and Ray were hospitable and helpful. We'd very happily return.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, which was an extremely comfortable en-suite with an excellent view of the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at this b&b for 1 night on Saturday 1st December, room was nice and clean but tv you could only get cbeebies! Was kept awake until 12.45am with family noise downstairs in the lounge. Breakfast left a lot to be desired, were told there was cereal and yoghurts to help ourselves to upon getting to breakfast and after was asked if we actually wanted any hot food, thought thats what you paid for when you stayed at a b&b. We ordered scrambled egg on toast which was so far from scrabbled egg i cannot even describe what it was like. All in all the accomodation was nice but not a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the guesthouse after a day trip in the local area. As soon as we walked in it was extremely welcoming, warm and cosy. Our room had a lovely view of the countryside, sheep and ducks, and the bed was unbelievably soft and super comfortable! Rose was incredibly hospitable and even bled our radiator without any hesitation when I mentioned it wasn't working properly. Food was simple & honest homestyle grub, and we had a lovely bottle of wine to accompany it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyFurneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Having stayed at the Waterside Guest House in Dymchurch I would like to say the establishment was warm, comfortable and very clean. The food was all freshly home cooked with an excellent choice at breakfast, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Rosé & Ray making myself and my wife very welcome indeed. Good location for seeing the Kent countryside and a five minute walk from the lovely Dymchurch beach. Would always recommend this establishment very highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffydog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Used to stay at Waterside as a child over 20 years ago, pleased to say with the current owners it's still as good as I remember it. Room was very comfortable, very clean and well prepared. I don't have full cooked breakfast but plenty of other options available and comments from other guests were very favourable. You do get a bit of traffic noise whch is noticable if you live somewhere very quiet as I do but it dies down after about ten o'clock so not too intrusive.
I have stayed elsewhere in the area but would always return to Waterside if accomodation was available there.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Srealm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have been coming to this guesthouse for 16 years now & always stay here. We love the fact that you can see nothing but countryside from the back garden & have a good view of the Romney,Hythe & Dymchurch railway & a great place to watch the wildlife & birds of which there are a wide variety. Owners are more like friends & each year we meet up with our fellow guests who have been coming like us for many years. We book from one year to the next so have never had any problem with our booking. The breakfasts are superb & for us with two disabled children it is essential to have on offer evening meals. This means when you have been out all day you can look forward to a relaxing evening meal & drink in the bar. On a lovely evening it is great to be able to sit outside on the patio & have a drink or even your evening meal. There is a busy road in front of the guesthouse, but as we live near one at home this doesn't bother us & it does go a lot quieter late in the evening until early the following morning. When our little boy has been sick, Rose has even washed his clothes for us. This is the only week in the year where I have a totally carefree week. We pay our bill by cheque so as to avoid additional surcharge. We are already booked for next year!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dymchurch
3.9 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
93 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#1 of 3 in Hythe
1,758 reviews
4.4 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hythe
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lydd
37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone
160 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Guest House

Property: Waterside Guest House
Address: 15 Hythe Road | Romney Marsh, Dymchurch TN29 0LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dymchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dymchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside Guesthouse is a family run Bed and Breakfast establishment with 5 en suite rooms, 2 double rooms, 2 twin bedded rooms and 1 family room that sleep 2 adults and 2 children. A full English breakfast is included in the price and there is a selection of cereals and fresh fruit or lighter cooked breakfasts are available. We are just a 10 minute walk from a beautiful sandy beach and the same distance into town with amusements for the children and shops including Post Office and convenience shops. There two pub restaurants and an Indian restaurant also fish and chip restaurant and Pie n Mash cafe. The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway the smallest public railway in the world can be seen from our rear terrace and Dymchurch has it's own station that is a 15 minute walk away. Waterside is an ideal location for exploring Kent and East Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waterside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Guest House Dymchurch, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing