We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly but a little pricey.”

The Ship Inn Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Dymchurch
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly but a little pricey.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We ate here while staying at Romney Sands Holiday park, we had had a nice day out in Folkestone and Dymchurch and decided to eat here before returning to the caravan site (or dirty dump as we called it).

The reception was welcoming and they welcome families, we ate in the area behind the bar so that the children didn't disturb other diners. A varied menu if a little overpriced for what you get.

Food was ok, service could have been a bit quicker and we were a little surprised to find our starter arrived at the same time as our main meals, not so good.

I think they really rely on tourists and probably exploit holiday trade but all in all it was a nice place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    17
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome awaits”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Elaine and her excellent staff are waiting for you to visit, for a drink, for a meal and, if you feel like it, a bed for the night and a hearty breakfast. Whatever your preference, a snack or a full-blown meal, a drink and a chat or a game of pool, this is the place to come

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pub food”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay overnight just stopped on for dinner.
Food was superb - home cooked to perfection: nice crisp (but not raw) veg, good sized portions and the steak & ale pie was delicious. Even the sometimes fussy children cleared their plates in spite of the generous size!
Friendly landlord & well kept real ale along with pool table to keep near teen children amused made for a lovely evening!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evansfamily71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great pub grub... mostly homemade”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Ship has a fairly typical pub menu, but most of the dishes are home cooked many using local ingredients. Great home made pies and a splendid carvery are recommended. The pub has a nice atmosphere with friendly staff, a nice conservatory and outside seating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHouston54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey meals.”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We visited the Ship Inn one lunchtime and found it busy, spotlessly clean and a friendly place. The Bar staff were very keen to help and polite. I ordered a Gammon Salad and was impressed with the quality of the meal provided. I was not impressed with the price.The amount of gammon and salad provided did not seem to warrant the price charged and looked somewhat meagre when compared to the size of the Plaice and Chips which my Companions were provided with.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Mary in the Marsh, Kent
 

Been to The Ship Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing