We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Two night stay at the Star Inn for a wedding at Hever Castle.

Stay there if:-

You need to be near to Hever Castle (10 mins)
Want a clean very basic room. Ours was nothing like photos on trip advisor though.
Want a big blowout of a nicely cooked breakfast.
You expect nice friendly staff. They were very good.

Don't stay there if:-

You want anything other than basic.
Want a dish and spoon for your cornflakes without asking.
That goes for side plates for toast too.
Also if you don't mind your milk in a plastic measuring jug.
You mind a dog roaming while you are having your breakfast.

This probably all sounds a bit petty, also a main consideration is the pub car park. It's not a car park but an area behind the pub for approx 4 cars. If your car is bigger ( i.e. wider) than a VWG Golf you will struggle. We were lucky to come away with no scratches, as the narrow approach is between two walls.

Would I go again?, No. Would I recommend,? No. Such a shame as the landlady was lovely. The historic pub and gardens were there for the making, just needs A LOT OF CARE AND ATTENTION. I know pubs are struggling in the economic times, but it could be a gem with Hever down the road. SORRY!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregory9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for comments and although you have some negative comment there are a few positives.

We are no frills but I do try to give good service.. I'm not sure how you didn't get a bowl for you cornflakes, an oversight I presume..Side plates, people normally use there breakfast plates so the table is not so crowded but if requested we are happy to provide. Sorry, I had broken our only 1 milk jug so improvised with the plastic jug, I have a lovely milk jug now...

The pub is a country pub & country pub sometimes have dogs, a lot of people love the dog being there.

We do not get any trade from Hever as there are a lot of coach trips that do not stop in the town, but I have a weekly gardener now and the garden is lovely... we just need our summer!

I am glad you had a lovely time at your friends daughters wedding...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    9
    6
    20
See reviews for
7
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Very comfortable executive suite - very clean and tidy although expected a little more room for "executive" room but ensuite was very good. Quiet well away from bar area and smokers spot. Bed very comfortable.

A little worried when we booked in as my name was not on guests booked-in board however soon resolved.by Nicci the landlady.

Breakfast in morning was excellent although told upto 11.30am when it was 11am however Nicci was not too bothered - pub opens each morning for breakfast specials. I could have had the belly bursting one (3 of everything) but settled for Star Inn option (2 of everything)

Garden area needed a bit of tidying and limited car parking not easy although Co-op car park not too far away.

Overall nice B & B and good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for you kind comments & feedback.

The garden is looking lovely now I have taken some-one on to help keep the grounds tidy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Never fails to deliver value for money and quality - tried the rest but this is definitely the best in Edenbridge. Friendly staff and fantastic service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiplingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Glad you enjoy it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Star Inn has a real friendly, community atmosphere. The Manager was so helpful and welcoming, and the room rates are very competitive. Our stay was made perfect by Lucy the Chef who cooks the best breakfast in England - Fantastic!!! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuSidAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
So glad you felt comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast! We look forward to you staying again. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

bar terrible, unfriendly customers. Seems if youre not a local forget drinking in there. A much friendlier pub just a couple of minutes walk way. Landlady, nikki, very drunk and threatening of an evening which is not at all professional whilst pub is open. Rooms ok, refering to previous comment cheap tacky bedding. Will not be returning next time will bring a tent.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garsenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Sorry.. I must have had a night off! although you did help me get a booking as people wanted to meet me... as you refered to other reviews I will do also, I am Nikki or the manager and I have had some lovely reviews that say I'm not 'awful' most of the time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edenbridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Friendly place and not too bad for an overnight stay - certainly a fair price.

But then you get what you pay for often and the windows are dodgy and the bedding whilst looking nice enough, was really not very comfortable - a bit synthetic and scratchy and somehow stiff.

The noise went on until very late downstairs so avoid the family room at the front if you can, especially on a Saturday (if you're bothered about sleep - fine if you're joining in). Not sure about other rooms.

Brekkie was good and plentiful but coffee was instant and tea wasn't great.

Overall, OK for a quick stopover if you don't mind a late night but bring your own bedding!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikj68, Manager at The Star Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your review... I looked into the issue with the bedding, your bedding as new and although the bedding had been washed before use there was still a bit of starch remaining which is why the bedding felt stiff... I have learnt from this and all new bedding has a few washes before we use them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

It's a good value B&B with a good standard of rooms, friendly landlord and a lovely doggy! Breakfast is best in Kent - seriously - worth it just to nurse your head over this in the morning. It is a local B&B so be prepares to mix in if using the pub but don't be put off by appearances as this is good value and comfortable within the average price range

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrralst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenbridge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: High Street, Edenbridge TN8 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Star Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing