We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous old building, very welcoming staff”
Review of Ye Old Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Crown
Ranked #5 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old building, very welcoming staff”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived late to check in but the guy who showed me and my daughter our double room was extremely helpful. The room was lovely and clean, super towels & comfy beds, with great tea/coffee/hot chocolate selection and an iron & ironing board! As other reviewers have mentioned, the window to our room - No. 2 -overlooked the courtyard which was quite noisy although it didn't bother us, it is a pub after all. We didn't sample the breakfast although it came highly recommended by local friends and family and the room price was reduced accordingly which I thought very generous. Would definitely stay here again, in fact I'm already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GailyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Ye Old Crown is a very historic inn which retains much original charm. The bar serves well-kept real ales. We didn't eat there on this occasion, although I have done in the past when the food was very good pub fare. We stayed overnight and had breakfast, which the very helpful landlady got up early to cook for us - as we had to be away before their normal serving time.

The rooms we used were clean and well furnished. The only problem we encountered was the dreadful ensuite shower room (see pictures). This had a temporary piece of mdf screwed over some pipework where a section of floor was missing, which presented a trip hazard (especially in bare feet). The shower had a cracked tile and spots of hardened cement all over the shower tray. The toilet cistern lid was badly cracked and the shower head wouldn't clamp up tight, resulting in a flooded floor. All of this adds up to a very unhygienic experience.

If it hadn't been for these defects I would have recommended this place for an overnight stay. For a room that cost a pound short of eighty quid it's just not good enough. I can only suggest that you stay away until the brewery have seen fit to rebuild the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tremewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a lovely old Inn with B&B accommodation in an annexe off the court yard. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped; the landlady was friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast was splendid.
This is an Inn therefore there were other customers there drinking until late and on the night we were there, a band was playing in the bar. If you don't mind pub noise (and we didn't), this is a great place to stay, just a few miles from Hever Castle and Penshurst Place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London NW6
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Ye old Crown is a friendly place. We were made to feel very welcome, our room was comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. BUT I would think twice about staying there when they are having an event. We were warned about the karaoke disco, but until you've experienced it you never know.

Our family room (number 6) was directly across the narrow courtyard from the side door of the bar. The door was open so it felt like the disco was in our room. Added to this the courtyard was full of happy customers until midnight, when they had to go inside. Then at closing time (1 am) they all were chucked out into the courtyard where it took them another 15 minutes to disperse.

Having said all that, we had an enjoyable stay but the tiredness of the kids slightly marred the sunday trip to Hever, which was the main reason for our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo_HA_HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We used this pub for an over night stay. We had a birthday party to attend and a taxi was ordered for us by the landlady before our arrival. The rooms were beautifully decorated. The breakfast was lovely - local produce (no cheap alternatives).

Friendly helpful staff.

If we were ever in the area again we would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here for one night in a double room. Although the pub is open until midnight and there is music being played it didn't present any problems as it is never loud. Food excellent, nothing fancy but good honest quality and homemade. The room has ensuite, trouser press and built in wardrobe, iron and tea/coffee facilities. It was lovely to see a good selection of beverages, with plenty of milk; something you do not always find. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable had the best nights sleep for a long time
Also the Old Crown has its own parking area.
I would certainly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tillyclothears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Michelle and Mike were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely spacious rooms, very comfortable beds and a great breakfast. All rooms overlook the pub courtyard so was worried about being able to sleep with the noise, but not a problem at all and slept really well. Only a short walk from Edenbridge Town station and an ideal spot for visiting Chartwell and Hever Castle even if you don't have a car. Hever is only one train stop away (4 mins) and then a 20 minute walk through public footpaths, but you can't reach Chartwell by public transport although it's only £9 each way in a taxi. Both beautiful places to visit. Edenbridge only has 2 eat in restaurants, apart from pub food, but there are plenty of take aways and Michelle was happy to provide plates and cutlery to eat take out in the pub restaurant area. A lovely break with a very hospitable family. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieandjohn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenbridge
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hurst Farm
Hurst Farm
#1 of 6 in Edenbridge
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hever Castle Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Greyhound at Hever
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Crown

Property: Ye Old Crown
Address: 74-76 High Street, Edenbridge TN8 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ye Old Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Crown Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing