We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Ye Old Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Crown
Ranked #4 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Recently stayed here for one night. The service was very good and the staff welcoming. The bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast ample. Right in the centre of Edenbridge and a short taxi ride away from Hever Castle. BTW, nothing to do with the hotel, but bought some bread in the bakery next door to take home and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as were going to a wedding in the local Hever castle.
The location was lovely on the high street and only 10 minutes to the castle. The rooms were spotless and the bed had a memory foam mattress and was the best sleep ever! Full english the next day was included and was delicious. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegal1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This old 14th century 'smugglers' inn is full of character with 6 recently renovated and very comfortable guest rooms in separate building at rear.
We stayed for 9 days and hosts, Michelle and Mike, made us feel very much at home.
We'll stay again next year when visiting the same area of Kent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived late to check in but the guy who showed me and my daughter our double room was extremely helpful. The room was lovely and clean, super towels & comfy beds, with great tea/coffee/hot chocolate selection and an iron & ironing board! As other reviewers have mentioned, the window to our room - No. 2 -overlooked the courtyard which was quite noisy although it didn't bother us, it is a pub after all. We didn't sample the breakfast although it came highly recommended by local friends and family and the room price was reduced accordingly which I thought very generous. Would definitely stay here again, in fact I'm already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Ye Old Crown is a very historic inn which retains much original charm. The bar serves well-kept real ales. We didn't eat there on this occasion, although I have done in the past when the food was very good pub fare. We stayed overnight and had breakfast, which the very helpful landlady got up early to cook for us - as we had to be away before their normal serving time.

The rooms we used were clean and well furnished. The only problem we encountered was the dreadful ensuite shower room (see pictures). This had a temporary piece of mdf screwed over some pipework where a section of floor was missing, which presented a trip hazard (especially in bare feet). The shower had a cracked tile and spots of hardened cement all over the shower tray. The toilet cistern lid was badly cracked and the shower head wouldn't clamp up tight, resulting in a flooded floor. All of this adds up to a very unhygienic experience.

If it hadn't been for these defects I would have recommended this place for an overnight stay. For a room that cost a pound short of eighty quid it's just not good enough. I can only suggest that you stay away until the brewery have seen fit to rebuild the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tremewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a lovely old Inn with B&B accommodation in an annexe off the court yard. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped; the landlady was friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast was splendid.
This is an Inn therefore there were other customers there drinking until late and on the night we were there, a band was playing in the bar. If you don't mind pub noise (and we didn't), this is a great place to stay, just a few miles from Hever Castle and Penshurst Place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Ye old Crown is a friendly place. We were made to feel very welcome, our room was comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. BUT I would think twice about staying there when they are having an event. We were warned about the karaoke disco, but until you've experienced it you never know.

Our family room (number 6) was directly across the narrow courtyard from the side door of the bar. The door was open so it felt like the disco was in our room. Added to this the courtyard was full of happy customers until midnight, when they had to go inside. Then at closing time (1 am) they all were chucked out into the courtyard where it took them another 15 minutes to disperse.

Having said all that, we had an enjoyable stay but the tiredness of the kids slightly marred the sunday trip to Hever, which was the main reason for our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo_HA_HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ye Old Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Crown

Address: 74-76 High Street, Edenbridge TN8 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ye Old Crown Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing