We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, average, welcoming”
Review of Ye Old Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Crown
Ranked #4 of 6 Edenbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having stayed here for only 1 night, we were pleasantly surprised on arrival with the location and look of the place. The pub seemed by welcoming during the day and nice, a earl old style English country pub.

The rooms are located outside the back of the pub, through the beer garden, and in what looks like an old stable/barn type thing with what I think has 4/5 rooms in total. The rooms are sweet, small, comfy. All nicely decorated, in a simple way, tea/coffee facilities, hanging space, iron (couldn't see ironing board, not that I needed it) TV, trouser press and an en suite.

The shower was dirty, it didn't appear clean in he shower basin at all, but it was not needed until morning so didn't say anything as we had to get off to a wedding.

Michelle who greeted us is lovely. Really friendly, smiley, approachable and everything that a person running a b&b should be. A real diamond.

The only slight fault, apart from dirty shower was the breakfast next morning was cold. Again, I didn't mention as I was hungry,and to be honest it's not the end of the world to have some cold beans and tomatoes!

I could also mention that the likelihood of having an early night here would be minimal if you stay over a weekend as the rooms are above the beer garden, and the pub obviously attracts all sorts of colourful characters that shout, swear and generally act like animals, but again, this is a fully working pub, so wasn't a huge surprise to me and didn't actually make a difference to me as I was so tired!

Overall a nice place that could have some tweaks to make it that little bit better, but Michelle is e standout. She deserves 5 stars, the rest would be 3. Would I return, vary possible, perhaps during the week.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank nomadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were visiting family nearby so stayed for just one night in a room in the modernised stable block at the back. The room was clean and décor okay so no complaints there. However, the weather had just turned cold after a hot spell, but a light summer cover was still on the bed instead of a duvet. After a chilly night's sleep, we advised a female member of staff before breakfast that it was probably time to get out the duvets (as they had seemingly been caught out because of the sudden overnight drop in temperature) in case they were unaware of how cold the bedroom had been. Instead of thanks or apologies, her reply was defensive and she asked "why didn't you use the blanket in the cupboard then?". (We checked after breakfast and there was no sign of a blanket - or extra bed cover - anywhere in the room).

Regarding the food: we ordered roasts in the near empty bar Sunday lunchtime, which unfortunately were unpalatable. Everything on the plate was grey in colour - the meat, the veg, the gravy. It was tasteless, and the texture suggested that it had all been reheated, even if it hadn't. Maybe we should have noticed beforehand that we were the only diners ...

The breakfast the following morning was better and tastier. However, this time it was served in the restaurant on the mezzanine floor overlooking the bar, and dead flies and dust on the inside window ledges at the rear were our only dining companions, which rather put us off our food.

We were a little disappointed by our stay at Ye Old Crown, as we remember the place from years ago when it was an upmarket, lively, bustling place, but realise, sadly, that pubs aren't what they used to be, and Edenbridge high street is no longer quite the vibrant high street it used to be either, unfortunately. The pub building itself still retains some original olde worlde features and a lovely fireplace and is undoubtedly a convenient and comfortable place to pop in for a drink with friends, but we would hesitate to stay overnight again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spratwaffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Recently stayed here for one night. The service was very good and the staff welcoming. The bedroom was comfortable and the breakfast ample. Right in the centre of Edenbridge and a short taxi ride away from Hever Castle. BTW, nothing to do with the hotel, but bought some bread in the bakery next door to take home and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusannaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for one night as were going to a wedding in the local Hever castle.
The location was lovely on the high street and only 10 minutes to the castle. The rooms were spotless and the bed had a memory foam mattress and was the best sleep ever! Full english the next day was included and was delicious. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegal1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This old 14th century 'smugglers' inn is full of character with 6 recently renovated and very comfortable guest rooms in separate building at rear.
We stayed for 9 days and hosts, Michelle and Mike, made us feel very much at home.
We'll stay again next year when visiting the same area of Kent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We arrived late to check in but the guy who showed me and my daughter our double room was extremely helpful. The room was lovely and clean, super towels & comfy beds, with great tea/coffee/hot chocolate selection and an iron & ironing board! As other reviewers have mentioned, the window to our room - No. 2 -overlooked the courtyard which was quite noisy although it didn't bother us, it is a pub after all. We didn't sample the breakfast although it came highly recommended by local friends and family and the room price was reduced accordingly which I thought very generous. Would definitely stay here again, in fact I'm already planning the next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Ye Old Crown is a very historic inn which retains much original charm. The bar serves well-kept real ales. We didn't eat there on this occasion, although I have done in the past when the food was very good pub fare. We stayed overnight and had breakfast, which the very helpful landlady got up early to cook for us - as we had to be away before their normal serving time.

The rooms we used were clean and well furnished. The only problem we encountered was the dreadful ensuite shower room (see pictures). This had a temporary piece of mdf screwed over some pipework where a section of floor was missing, which presented a trip hazard (especially in bare feet). The shower had a cracked tile and spots of hardened cement all over the shower tray. The toilet cistern lid was badly cracked and the shower head wouldn't clamp up tight, resulting in a flooded floor. All of this adds up to a very unhygienic experience.

If it hadn't been for these defects I would have recommended this place for an overnight stay. For a room that cost a pound short of eighty quid it's just not good enough. I can only suggest that you stay away until the brewery have seen fit to rebuild the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tremewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ye Old Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Crown

Address: 74-76 High Street, Edenbridge TN8 5AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Edenbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edenbridge
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ye Old Crown Edenbridge, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing