We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gladstone House

Gladstone House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faversham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gladstone House
Ranked #4 of 16 Faversham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here in August while I was on a course at the Archaeological field school. This was my first trip away on my own and Mary couldn't have made me feel more welcome. My room was cosy and very clean with free Wifi. Breakfast was perfect and all the other guests I met seemed to love the place as much as me. I would recommend Gladstone house and will definitely be staying here again if I do other courses as the field school. Thanks Mary will hopefully see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
63
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times now over a number of years. Super accommodation in the centre of Faversham and very close to the railway station. Mary is a great host and the house has a warm and relaxed atmosphere. I would have no worries recommending this house to anyone wishing to stay in the quaint town of Faversham.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Gladstone for a long weekend and couldn't have been made more welcome. The host, Mary, is indeed lovely and is great fun too. The house itself is huge and cosy, my room was lovely and big, the breakfasts were delicious. The house is in a peaceful spot, near the town and the railway station, yet lovely and quiet too. I was trying to leave on the day the recent storms blew up and the trains were cancelled temporarily, but Mary was so helpful, feeding me cups of tea while I waited for the train service to start up again. Thanks Mary. Be back soon if you can fit me in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely Mary and her beautiful home. The attention to detail and home from home atmosphere are two things that make Gladstone House stand out. I was very tempted to ask if I could move in permanently! From the moment you walk through the door into this Victorian house you feel glad you chose to stay. I had a twin room, decorated in cream with deep cushions and duvet and crisp bed linen. Lovely paintings on the walls, chinoiserie lamps, water jugs, tea coffee and a little tub of biscuits. A tv and radio, a bookcase full of a very eclectic collection to browse. The bathroom had plentiful towels and toiletries. It was a lovely peaceful room. At breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen style conservatory there was a cornucopia of choice and an interesting fellow guest. Mary and the two of us put the world to rights over my vegetarian cooked breakfast. I was there only one night and will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I came by train and this B&B is two minutes away from the station: it is also two minutes from the main street of Faversham: so it is very convenient for local sight seeing on foot as well as taking the train to Canterbury or further afield. Having said that, my room was exceptionally quiet and restful.
Mary met me at the front door and from the moment I entered her B&B I was welcomed like a member of the family, with help with my luggage and great pot of tea!
Others have described the lovely Victorian house, the scrumptious breakfasts, the super cleanliness, the comforting interior decor and the wonderful beds! But I would also like to emphasize her helpfulness, her kindness and her interest in ensuring that you have the best possible time.
This is not a B&B, it is a 'Home from Home'. Nothing was too much trouble. You will want to go back again and again.

Room Tip: There is a choice between ensuites with a bath or with a shower. Both are lovely, it just depends o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanna437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have just returned from a stay at Gladstone House. My room was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. As all the other reviews say Mary is a great hostess and will keep you laughing over breakfast. I really hope I have the opportunity to come again. Thanks Mary!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Gladstone House (I've tried two different rooms) and I have already booked to return again. It is an elegantly furnished, large terraced house. The rooms are comfortable, with lovely cotton bed linen, feather pillows and spotlessly clean. I stay for work, so appreciate the kettle and biscuits in the room after a long day, before heading off out for dinner.
Mary is the Faversham font of all knowledge, directing to places of interest. She cooks a mean breakfast, served in the bright conservatory/sun room. If you don't want a cooked breakfast there is always freshly prepared fruit, yoghurt and a variety of cereal and breads. Wonderful. See you soon Mary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faversham
1.4 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 16 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#3 of 16 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone House

Property: Gladstone House
Address: 60 Newton Road, Faversham ME13 8DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Faversham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone House is a friendly Irish guesthouse located in the center of Faversham, just minutes away from the shops, railway station and all facilities. It is a comfortable Victorian town house on Newton Road, only 200 yards from Faversham railway station with its frequent trains to London and the Kent coast. It is only minutes from Junction 6 of the M2 motorway by car, with Canterbury 15 minutes away and Ashford, with its International Station, 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gladstone House Faversham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing