We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a pub should be”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #21 of 94 Restaurants in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Anchor Inn is a beautiful 300 year old pub, just a few minutes walk from Faversham town centre at the terminus of Abbey Street, one of the finest preserved medieval streets in England, and very close to the historic Faversham creek. Some of the beams in the pub are reported to be from the old Abbey in Faversham.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is what a pub should be”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Coming from London, it's great to see a pub looking the way they're meant to in this amazing old building. It's incredibly welcoming and opens up into a a warm space filled with country features and even a piano in the corner. If it's sunny, go into the garden like we did, because it's just as impressive as the inside and a great place to spend in the sun.

Aside from the look and atmosphere of the place, all the staff we met were friendly, chatty and more than happy to help you pick out what you wanted. It's always good when you're being served by someone that knows and cares about what they're serving you. Also, something missing from most bars (in London at least) was the overwhelming range of pickled eggs. More pubs should get on this.

If you're visiting Faversham, it's definitely worth heading to, whether you're just grabbing a drink or going for the food, with a tempting line up offered on the menu.

Hopefully we'll be back to hear some of the live music it's said to offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello

Thank you for your great review. After the previous review it is good to see that some people think we are doing something correctly!

Joe is very proud of his pickled egg collection!

Cheers

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    53
    26
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sorry I gave this another chance”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Saw some positive reviews and so returned to give it another chance. So sorry I did.
There were items missing from the the menu and the staff seemed more interested in serving their friends at the bar than us
The food was hideous and poorly presented and our experience was less than pleasant.
Will not be returning despite the good reviews from the owners partner (Sarah M )

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FavPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello Pete,

It seems that you have a problem with the management of the Anchor about which we are unable to fix. I see from your other review you mention previous management in a glowing light, but seem to dislike Joe?

I am quite happy to meet with you face-to-face to discuss the problem you have; please feel free to call the pub to arrange this rather than leaving negative reviews.

I thank you for your previous custom and hope you enjoy the Phoenix.

Cheers

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I'm still hungry!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We are moving to Faversham shortly and trying out all the local "eateries."
This is a really nice pub and the staff friendly and competent.
But the food? No, we wouldn't bother again ...we had to stop at Tesco's to get something to eat on the way home...seriously!
Steak and mushroom pie? more like mushroom and mushroom pie and so small I am wondering how they keep a straight face when the bill is presented!
May I humbly suggest that the problem is the total lack of any garnish...a white plate, white tiny bowl of mash and white mash topped pie.
The fish was very nice, but again no garnish...only another tiny bowl of white mash. Oh dear!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 2710ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello

I must apologise for the experience you have received and I have passed your feedback onto our chef to ensure that he does not send out small portions in the future.

Regards

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This place is great. The bar staff are fun, lively and friendly. The drinks are perfectly priced and of an evening there is a very good atmosphere. I will definitely come back here and maybe try the food. Would be even if they did cocktails!

Helpful?
Thank RobVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello - thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it..

Cocktails? Never even considered it, next time you are in have a word with Joe or Terry and we will see what we can do for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, but food an ambiance not as good as The Dove.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Used to go to the Dove and had high expectations for the Anchor. Sorry guys but a bit of a let down tonight. Service great and very friendly and apologetic, but limited menu, a number of options not available tonight including no 'sweet' desserts. Orders didn't quite come through right (ordered sweet potato wedges with one if the mains and got chips instread, forgot the olives with the bread). Ran out of first bottle of wine so had to switch.
Not too sure at moment we'll be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ukholidaysrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am not sure why you are comparing us to the Dove as we are very different operations, with the Dove being a "gastropub" and the Anchor being a pub with a restaurant? Phil and Sarah (ex managers of the Dove) did work here for a short period but moved off 5 months ago.

The menu has just been changed and as such the chef hasn't been offering his usual array of specials as well, so I am sorry you thought the menu was limited. From Wednesday it will be business as usual with the chef offering 4-5 specials every day on top of the ten main meals in the core menu.

I must apologise for the incorrect delivery of your meal, this is not acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing