We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to normal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #19 of 92 Restaurants in Faversham
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Anchor Inn is a beautiful 300 year old pub, just a few minutes walk from Faversham town centre at the terminus of Abbey Street, one of the finest preserved medieval streets in England, and very close to the historic Faversham creek. Some of the beams in the pub are reported to be from the old Abbey in Faversham.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Back to normal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited The Anchor yesterday after a few months and after a few different managers and pleased to say it is back to the Anchor I knew....the food was excellent, beautifully cooked and fast service, the atmosphere friendly and inviting. If you want to sit outside the gardens are lovely with plenty of seating. Well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    47
    24
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“My favourite pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have been going here for years. Great beer, ambience. Lovely garden, lots of space and it is a delight in the winter,too

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have had mixed experiences of the Anchor due mainly to several changes of management and menu. This evening however the food was great and the service very friendly and welcoming. The ham, egg and chips really hit the spot and my partner and a delicious meal of chicken rolled in bacon with a lovely sauce. Whenever we have been there on a week night I have found it a bit disappointing that it isn't always as full as it could be but from what I hear it seems that on high days and holidays it is getting much busier. And the good weather I'm sure makes people make the extra effort to walk a bit further down to the creek.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a meal for four adults on a busy Saturday night (Faversham Nautical Festival). We were served by Terry who was polite helpful and made good suggestions. The food was of a high quality and arrived after a reasonable delay, considering all the vistors to the town.
The service (by Terry) was outstanding. The food was of a high quality, and all sufficiently hot and well seasoned.
This pub has changed hands far too many times recently, I do not know the reason. Let us hope the chef will remain and be permitted his own style and encompass her/ his own choice for a menu.
Terry was polite, helpful, and remained calm in a pressurised, busy environment. The food was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst lunch in Faversham”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to the Anchor for lunch and ordered lunch for four adults...
A ham and mustard baguette, a Brie and bacon baguette and sandwich, a fish finger sandwich and a side of chips and cheesy chips...nothing too taxing even for a junior chef ?
After waiting 45minutes we finally got our food....the chips were awful,greasy,warm and undercooked.The Brie and bacon filling comprised of about an inch of dried up Brie and hard,dry bacon, the ham was smothered in so much mustard it had to be scraped off before it was edible and the fish finger sandwich was passable although not the best of fish fingers. We did get a salad garnish which comprised of a few lettuce leaves and two pieces of dried up cucumber.
If anyone had bothered to come and ask us if everything was ok we would have sent the food back. I did complain about the food when I went in to pay and they agreed to not charge us for the chips!
All round a very bad experience, the only good thing was the beer but there is plenty of good beer in Faversham so we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing