We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oak Cottage”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Country Retreat

Gardens and grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gardens and grounds
Well appointed Bungalow in quiet location. Kitchen  breakfast room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Gardens and grounds
Well appointed Bungalow in quiet location.
Kitchen  breakfast room
Double bedroom
Lounge
Second bedroom with good size comfortable twin beds.
Comfortable Lounge area to relax in.
Well equipped kitchen.
Magical Spring time!
Beautiful mature tree's in every direction.
Relax on the garden bench, enjoy the views and abundance of wild life
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Faversham, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
drenedesi...
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Oak Cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really enjoyed our 7 day break in Oak Cottage. Comfortable, clean and good shower. All facilities . The scenery was great and the weather was perfect.
We had a BBQ with friends from Canterbury and Faversham.
My 14 mth dog Bella enjoyed her walks in the grounds and enjoyed watching the sheep on a daily basis.
We met some really nice people who were in the other cottages too.
Maureen is a humble and very welcoming lady who makes your holiday a happy and enjoyable one.
My husband Rohan, Bella and I will be returning in the near future.
Bella watching the sheep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Dear Drene, Rohan & Bella
We are very pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. You would be most welcome to return at anytime, I must "Thank you" for leaving Oak Cottage so nice and tidy - it was very much appreciated!
Kind regards
Maureen French
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragJane...
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I have been here twice now this year, May and September. We stayed in Oak cottage both times. My husband was born in Ramsgate so he knows his way around Kent.
Oak cottage is very well equipped and was spotless on arrival. Everything included, except towels, which is really great! The washing machine helpful when staying 2 weeks.
The views of the parkland are beautiful any time of day (as long as it's not raining)
You really need a car as it is a fair walk into Faversham. Plenty of shops, supermarkets and market stalls to browse.
Transport links are great, just 10 minutes to the M2 with easy access to Canterbury, Dover, Deal, Rochester, Ramsgate, Herne Bay, Whistable and even further afield to Hastings.
The Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch railway is well worth a visit. Catch train at Hythe (plenty of parking) go out to Dungeness, have a portion of chips, catch next train back stopping at New Romney to look in the museum, back on next train returning to Hythe. A great day out on a miniature steam train!
We look forward to returning in the future and to see Maureen and Robin again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the front window.
Liked least: The noisy boiler!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Dear Morag & Graham
We enjoyed having you and are very pleased you had a great experience with your stay. I also have to say a big "Thank you" to you for leaving Oak Cottage so clean and tidy for us! (grin) We'd love to see you both again!! Many thanks Maureen & Robin French
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodeberg...
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location but a good steady walk into town!”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Plus points for this place:

Lovely quiet location
Nice views over parkland
Good parking (2 spaces per place)
Well kitted out kitchen

This is a perfectly respectable and clean place to stay however, do note;

The place is quite a bit out of town, so you'll need a car (unless you're very fond of walking!)
If there are two couples, the walls between the bedrooms are paper thin, you can hear whispers next door!
Don't forget to push the booster button on the boiler, otherwise only two of you get a hot shower!
Decor is now a bit old fashioned

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Dear Lynn
Thank you for your kind comments about the positive side of your stay in our Oak Cottage. It's very nice to get some feed back when guests appreciate all the effort that goes into a high standard of cleaning & housekeeping, the views form Oak cottage across the Parkland are very beautiful. Unfortunately on your arrival day I had to visit the hospital with my son and was not able to personally show you how everything worked in the cottage, which of course would have included the use of the boost on the hot water system to give you constant hot water! I have learnt a lesson from my absents on your arrival and have now included it in our information book. I do agree that Oak Cottage decor is due for a up lift and it will be done at the end of this season. We would love to see you again on another occasion. Kind regards
Maureen French
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cnuttall2...
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thank you for making us so welcome. We really enjoyed our stay. The garden area was a bonus - pretty and sheltered and a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome. Clean and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind commentsand taking time to do it. We enjoyed having you and your family as guests, especially your grandson, he was so cute taking the dog for a walk on the lead until it laid down and refused to go any further!! You would all be very welcome to come back anytime.
Kind regards
Maureen French
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation reasonably priced in a quiet countryside location”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have visited the Country Retreat cottages (either Oak or Elm) every year since the mid 90's and cannot fault it. Comfortable clean cottages, well equipped, set within a country estate landscaped by Repton. Quiet, full of wildlife and sheep, green woodpecker and the occasional white squirrel! Plenty to see and do in the area and further afield - Faversham, Canterbury, Ashford Designer outlet and Cineworld, Tunbridge Wells, Margate (Dreamland now re-opened), Ramsgate, plenty of superb Gardens to visit, Chatham Dockyard, Dover Castle, Leeds Castle, the list goes on and we have STILL not exhausted all the attractions of the area after all these years. Would recommend to all interested travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you Helen & Clive it's so nice to hear lovely comments from our guests especially those that return year after year and appreciate our efforts! Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a positive review! Kind regards Maureen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham P
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I made a very late booking enquiry and Maureen was good enough to phone me up to let me know that the bungalow was available and to give me chance to think about it. I booked straight away and found the accommodation to be ideal for our purposes of a base to explore Kent. The bungalow was very clean,tidy and well equipped in a good location. Maureen and Roger were both very helpful and friendly without being intrusive.
The only word of warning I would give would be to be very careful when exiting the drive onto the A2, being on the brow of a hill visibility is not ideal so avoid peak traffic times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The standard of accommodation for the price.
Liked least: Exiting the property onto the A2
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
Dear Graham
Thank you so much for your very kind words it is very much appreciated when someone takes the time to give us a review! Also a very big "Thank You" for leaving the Cottage so nice after your stay, are both very welcome to come and visit anytime !
Many thanks
Maureen French
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38elliean...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ivy Cottage. The perfect "Bolthole" for exploring Kent.”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were greeted by Maureen ( the owner) A very friendly lady who showed us around the property. it's a lovely bungalow. Very smart and clean and has very good facilities. There's a full sized freezer, fridge and oven, microwave and a lovely kitchen. The bungalow is warm and set in a lovely private estate. It's so quiet there. You can't hear a thing at night time. Lovely and quiet. You are close to Faversham and one mile from Sainsburys,Tesco or Morrisons. There's a really comfy three seater leather settee that reclines and a reclining leather armchair too. Nice TV and wifi ( wifi a bit temperamental but ok.)
Lovely bathroom with a shower over the bath. Comfy bed! Thoroughly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So comfortable. Slept well....nice bed. Quiet place.
Liked least: The lack of a local bus service. Had to go into Faversham first. And no free parking there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us we are just a small business run by our family and you message gives us a real boost when we know our efforts are appreciated!
Many thanks
Maureen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing