We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
130
10
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
10
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu souffle an overnight stay kitchen garden georgian house four poster bed excellent dinner worth every penny birthday treat full english little gem reads rona kent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2023

We have just returned from an overnight stay plus dinner and breakfast.Everything was excellent .Such attention to detail in our room ,the food and service .We thank Brad ,Stephen and Dani [lucky Dani to have a husband who can produce such wonderful raspberry souffle !!] for their friendly professionalism .We will certainly return and are only sorry we waited so long to visit .

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2022

just love this place.
I go most weeks.
a gorgeous georgian house - kind staff , a nice wine list-
and best of all on every occasion you can find something elegant and tasty on the menu.
they have some dishes they just can't take off because they are so well loved- wonderful souffles for pud.
charming skilled folk - and rightly popular - long may it continue.

Date of stay: October 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2022

Wow what an experience!

Visited with my wife for 75th birthday treat. She loves to cook and she is fanatical gardener but I didn’t realise just how Read’s would impress on both counts. We chose the tasting menu which certainly didn’t disappoint with so many different tastes and textures. When we learned how vegetables are sourced from their own kitchen garden she couldn’t wait to inspect it. Service from all the staff was impeccable and unobtrusive yet friendly in the cosy surroundings of the elegant small dining room. It almost felt like private dining.

Afterwards we retired to our bedroom with its four poster bed and enjoyed a great nights sleep. Breakfast is served from 8.30 so time beforehand for a walk and the walled garden even at the end of season was interesting to explore. It’s a lovely Georgian country house and the finale was breakfast which was possibly the best “full English “ we have experienced. Sitting under the portrait of the late Queen made with thousands of pearl buttons was extraordinary.

Rona and David are a great team with so much experience and it shows. If you haven’t visited Read’s I’m sure you would enjoy it and you don’t have to stay overnight but it adds to the experience. They only have six rooms so book early.

Room tip: Book early if you want to stay overnight
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vicm356
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

Absolutely amazing start to finish!
Sooo impressed.
Amazing service, friendliness, rooms, food was totally amazing! Well done guys. Aced it
We was all so grateful and delighted with your outstanding venue and class. We shall we back as soon as we can. Until then keep up the 5 star standards. What a great hidden little gem.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 897sineadf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2022 via mobile

My wife and I visited for dinner with friends and then stayed overnight. The dinner was excellent, beautifully prepared and served. There is a very good wine list.

The room was traditionally appointed and most comfortable. The breakfast was just right.

We will return.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank graham137
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews