We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BiggCafc
Faversham, United Kingdom

Awful place - Avoid

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Dec 2021via mobile
Can't believe this place has positive reviews. People running the place clearly have interest in only running the pub.

Room was basic and not decorated since the 80's. Booked restaurant and when arrived told that we would have to wait for our food because a Christmas party was booked for a table of about 10 people. Asked how long we would be waiting and they just couldn't answer. Then told that to order food we would have to go and order at the bar next door as no waitress service. Left and went to Ask Italian which was great.

Came back at 11 and the bar was quite full. Asked for a drink and was told they couldn't serve us as bar closed. Thought hotels could still serve guests and add to bill. Oh well. 

In the morning they demanded we pay for breakfast before having it. Girl serving us told chef and we heard him say if they ain't paying up front they aren't getting anything. He came out and I tried to say hello to him and he just stared at me. Strange place.

Would not recommend and will not be coming back.  

Hope whoever wrote the last review got plenty of free pints!
Date of stay: December 2021
Room Tip: Book somewhere else. Not welcoming here
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from The Railway Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from The Railway Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 miles from The Railway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 miles from The Railway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 miles from The Railway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The gardens.
    0.5 miles from The Railway Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    0.7 miles from The Railway Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Standard suite bedroom
    • eDreams
    • Skyscanner.com
    • Priceline
    6.3 miles from The Railway Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    3.1 miles from The Railway Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Faversham
    Reviews (168)
    Filter reviews
    168 results
    Traveller rating
    60
    55
    28
    6
    19
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    60
    55
    28
    6
    19
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    21 - 26 of 168 reviews
    Reviewed 7 December 2021

    Had a lovely meal in the hotel on Saturday night with lovely service by all. Was explained to politely about a bit of a longer wait due to a large party of Christmas guests.. and unlike the other review we was told that the till is closed at 11 and no.more drinks can be sold after 11

    Date of stay: December 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank markhD7028YO
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 December 2021

    We stayed on the basis of all these positive reviews. However, our experience was absolutely disappointing. We went down for dinner at our appointed time, which one of our group had pre-booked a few weeks before, to be told (by a young lady dressed in shabby jeans and top) that it would be a while before we got our food but could not give a timeframe as there was a group of 8 already in there, so we went to a restaurant down the road. We got back at 11pm for a last drink before bed only to be told that the bar was closed, even though the bar was full with people drinking and they carried on for over an hour after we went to our room. We had noisy neighbours both late in the evening and early hours. We went for breakfast only to be told it is a set full english. There is no cereals or fruit juices.
    Bit of a problem if you are vegetarian. It did taste nice though. Payment for the room and the breakfast have to be paid in advance. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of tea making facilities but need a paint and the shower needs an overhaul.

    Room tip: The rooms are upstairs without a lift because it is an old building
    Date of stay: December 2021
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank lycallanan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

    We stayed for one Saturday night as we were going to a concert in Faversham. When we got there we were a bit early to check-in so we just had a drink and waited for our room to be ready. We were made to feel very welcome the pub is nice and our room was excellent the full English breakfast was cooked to perfection

    Room tip: They have a carpark for customer's
    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 994frederickw
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 October 2021

    We recently held a family wake at The Railway Hotel having sole use of the Carriage Restaurant. Nigel and his team could not do enough for us and provided us with an excellent buffet. The standard of service was excellent. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend.

    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank X670ROjaneta
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 August 2021

    The very best roast in Faversham. Fabulous and friendly staff. Highly recommended....please try it. Great music and a great selection of wines. I always enjoy my visit and cannot recommend it more highly.

    Date of stay: August 2021
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank F3800ZAcraigc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews