We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable, with friendly service”
Review of Railway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Faversham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2007

The staff were very accomodating from the time I booked, the sinlge was taken but were willing to give a discount for a double as I was traveling alone. The rooms were clean and comfortable and reasonably priced, I also found them to be relatively quiet considering they were above a pub. The owners have made some nice updates to the rooms to make them quite relaxing. The full english breakfast each morning was excellent and was served quite promptly. I plan on returning and staying again with the whole family next time I visit.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 105 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2007

Attractive traditional pub with many period features located right opposite the railway station and on the fringe of the compact attractive town centre. I am not a fan of staying in pubs but we enjoyed our stay and had a good nights sleep due to the effective secondary glazing although we did return just past midnight (on Sunday) by which time the bar was in darkness. The attractive sympathetically decorated restaurant is separate from the bar area and the cooked breakfast was good and plentiful. Bed linen was clean, bathroom had new fittings, furniture was a little tired as was the carpet and lino but it appeared that both rooms were in the midst of a phased redecoration plan. Good value single room. Above average for a pub hotel/B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2007

This is just the place that I like to stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean, if not luxurious. Most importantly, the rooms were amazingly quiet for a pub hotel and my girlfriend and I were able to sleep without any difficulty. The kettle didn't work but Chris, the landlord, replaced it immediately (excellent service!) The only niggles were that the loo roll kept falling off its holder (not such a big deal in the scheme of things) and the water temperature of the shower was somewhat variable! I understand that the rooms are gradually being refurbished, so even these issues will be non-existent before too long.

The breakfast was excellent, with a good range of options from toast through to a full English with plenty of tea to wash it down.
The restaurant is nothing short of superb. I have seldom had such good food - and the portions are enormous, which could be a problem if you're a) desperate to try the puddings or b) desperate to fit into your trousers easily.

Last, and by no means least, the bar is wonderful. A nice quiet pub which has been carefully restored. The drinks are great (and, although I'm no judge, seem to be well cellared). You can hear yourself think, and your friends talk. The owners are just the sort that you'd imagine running your fantasy local!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
118
Reviewed 1 August 2005

My family and I visited Faversham for four days in early July. We stayed at the Railway Hotel, which turned out to be a mistake. We were 4 people total, including our 8-moth old son. Our stay at the Railway Hotel not an experience I wish to repeat.

Summary: The accomodations are inappropriate for anyone but a worker who needs a room and breakfast during the week. Being fair, this seems to be their core business, which makes me wonder why we were not informed of this while talking to the owner before booking with them. We asked lots of qustions, and made sure that our needs were clear (baby, three adults, wanted a single room, etc.), but that didn't seem to matter in the end.

I'll start with the good things about the location, just to be fair:
1. Good breakfast - fresh and served warm
2. Good location - just across from the train station (gets rough at night, though)
3. Provided a playpen for the baby (even though it was a broken one, we appreciated the effort)
4. Provided a high-chair at breakfast

So, here are the bad things:

1. We tried to book a single room, but told that there was not enough space for three adults in the single room. When we arrived, we were given two rooms (on opposite sides of the hotel). We had not even unpacked before we found the second bed in the larger room; this provided more than enough room for us. When we asked about using just one room, we were told that there was a risk of fire, and we would do so at our own risk. I'm still not sure what that meant, but we opted for the one room. As we had already paid, we were told that they would "figure it out later". In the end, the owner charged us for both rooms the first night (even though nothing had been touched, and my mother-in-law had been in there for less than 5 minutes) because we had "broken the seal".

2. There was no air conditioning, which may have been bearable if the windows could be opened. As it was, it was amazngly hot and muggy in our room at all times. The hotel did provide a small fan that ceased to function after the second day.
2a. When we informed the staff about the broken fan, they said that they would inform the owner (who was down stairs at the time). After an hour, I went back down to see if they had forgotten. The owner was sitting in the bar (part of the hotel) talking to a friend. As soon as she saw me, she quite rudely said that if I was there about the fan, I was out of luck. The fans were "just something extra that we put in the rooms". She was quite nasty about it. Eventually, she let me take one of the large fans from the bar up to the room.

3. There was no hot water the first day of our stay. When we asked about it, it seemed that our questions were an inconvenience to the staff.

4. When we arrived, the light in the bathroom was out.

5. The location is very smokey. Not great for non-smokers, even though the hotel portion is supposed to be non-smoking (it apparently isn't).

6. The music from the bar was supposed to cease at 11:00pm (the owner made a big deal about letting us know this). It didn't.

7. Any time we had a question of any type, the owner acted as if answering was a huge problem. An example was when I asked about phone access at other locations around town (I had a conference call the next day, and there were no phones at the hotel). The owner looked at me with clear disdain, and told me there was a phonebooth across the street. This was the first day of our stay.

8. There are no phones in the room, and no phone available to guests at the Hotel.

9. The patrons at the pub below the hotel are a rowdy group. Definitely not a family location.

I could go on, as there were a number of other things that made the stay terrible. At the root of it all is the fact that we were misled by the owner, who led us to believe that the location was appropriate for tourists and families. It is not. The Railway Hotel is appropriate only for working men who need a place to stay during the week.

Faversham has some other lovely accomodations; I would enacourage visitors to stay elsewhere if at all possible.

18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
extrabighands, innkeeper at Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2006

I was applaed to see this review. Your stay must have been wretched.
We have been here since August 2006 with a very clear mission; we want to rediscover the delights of this beautiful Victorian railway hotel.
The bar has been refurbished and has no longer any televisions, music, fruit machines, alcopops and idiots. The beer quality is excellent.
The rooms are being upgraded. The restaurant is on line to re-open in January 2007.
It isn't perfect yet and we welcome any comments on where to improve.
It never was going to be achieved overnight but please let us help you have a great stay here.
Chris Maclean ~ Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers zijn voorzien van waterkoker en televisie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franciscus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fran1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faversham
1.3 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
397 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
751 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 3 in Boughton-under-Blean
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Address: Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Faversham
Price Range: £72 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Hotel is a classic spacious Victorian hotel with seven en-suite bedrooms. Each room is comfortably appointed with ample tea/coffee making facilities, free unlimited wireless broadband and large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Faversham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing