We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
1_Tilly
Godalming, United Kingdom

Simply wonderful

Review of Shepherd House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Sept 2018via mobile
Hosts Claire and Simon were brilliant, making us feel very much at home, and not forgetting Delilah of course! The very bold colour schemes very much brightened the mood of the rooms and the atmosphere. We booked the large room, which is exactly what it said it was, large! I’ve seem the comments regarding no doors on the bathrooms, which is indeed true, but once one got used to the concept, there were no issues at all, with a large screen providing privacy if so desired. Tea/coffee facilities in the room were good, even had a small bottle of proper milk, none of that horrible UHT cartons for their guests, only the best will do!

Despite a limited selection for breakfast, who needs a large selection when this was so gorgeous. I’ve never had a ‘starter’ for breakfast before, very unique, and lovely!

If you had time, there is also a lovely walled garden to relax in, well away from the hustle and bustle of Faversham itself. Indeed the centre of the town is but a short hop, skip and a jump away, making the location ideal for exploring the town.

The only small point I would make, which in no way diminishes the score provided, is that the room we stayed in could maybe of had a small set of drawers to put ones ‘smalls’ in so to speak, and perhaps a small shelf in the bathroom as the sink was so wonderfully large, there was little room to place anything else on it (tooth brush, paste etc. but as said, these are only very minor points which should not detract you from staying at this wonderful boutique B&B

Thank you again for a wonderful stay
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Vio.com
    £105
0.3 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Booking.com
£75
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
    £60
  • Algotels
    £98
1.3 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£241
  • Priceline
    £268
  • Agoda.com
    £165
  • Expedia.com
    £217
2.4 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Free parking
room 4 large double room
Booking.com
£115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £115
  • Agoda.com
    £115
  • Vio.com
    £115
0.0 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £110
0.4 miles from Shepherd House
Standard suite bedroom
Booking.com
£199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £199
  • Skyscanner.com
    £199
  • Agoda.com
    £199
6.3 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
No booking fees
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £160
  • eDreams
    £160
  • Vio.com
    £160
2.9 miles from Shepherd House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£171
  • Skyscanner.com
    £172
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
4.8 miles from Shepherd House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Faversham
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
24
0
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
0
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Spent last weekend at the Shepherd House. Service was fantastic - Clare is one of the most charming hosts I’ve ever come across. We loved our room - very large double - which was very stylishly decorated ( as it the whole house). Breakfast was delicious. Ideally located for the town and station and has easy parking round the back. Oh and they give you champagne and snacks when you arrive!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheWellsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Claire and Simon were wonderful hosts, they have excellent taste, high standards and a very friendly and relaxed attitude. Every part of our stay was perfection, from the gorgeous interior design to the delicious breakfasts and all the little details in between. We were given a complementary glass of champagne in the garden on arrival which was a great start to our weekend. I liked that breakfast was served till 10.30 and that check was at 12.00 so you don’t feel rushed. A a car parking space was allocated at the back of the building which was helpful. Yes, the bathroom is inside the room, this seems clearly to be because Shepherd House is a Georgian Listed Building, I would rather have the bathroom in the room with no interior wall then have no bathroom at all. I found it romantic and fun, a definite luxury to have a grand, roll top bath at the end of a velvet super king bed! There was a toilet downstairs if you did want privacy. We stayed 2 nights so had a chance to experience different breakfast options, very filling and satisfying! We will be coming back soon to try the other rooms.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ghyll2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights for our anniversary weekend and totally loved it. The rooms are so stylish and chic, with an array of beautiful Bramley products which I loved! Champagne in the garden was a highlight, and nothing was too much trouble for lovely Claire who ran the property.
She bakes delicious banana bread, was so accommodating and had thought of all the little touches, from lovely coffee in the room to this beautiful bath oil - and finally sourced the most delicious salmon I have ever eaten. I would definitely go again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Our hosts immediately helped us feel at home and relaxed; very friendly and helpful and the things that we asked for to make our visit easier were accommodated with a smile.... everything is classy and tasteful, a little oasis in Faversham

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Shepherd House for a weekend away from London. Location is ideal (just outside the station in Faversham) and within easy reach of all of the shops. I loved Claire’s recommendations for places to visit nearby.

The B&B is stylish and modern and Claire was very hospitable throughout our stay. Breakfast was lovely with overnight oats, decaff coffee and a choice of hot dishes - including scrambled eggs and salmon and pancakes with bacon.

My main “gripe” was with the lack of separate bathroom (as other reviews have highlighted), which is really a basic expectation from any room, let alone at £145 per night. My boyfriend and I have been together a long time, so not an issue, but as it didn’t say on the website I imagine it could come as quite a surprise to others, particularly if staying with parents / friends!! Toilet and bath are in full view of bed and while there is a dressing room-style screen there is relatively little privacy. The room also became quite hot from the bath which wasn’t ideal. It would have been helpful to have a dressing table with mirror as drying hair was a challenge! We have stayed in quite a few nice hotels and even premier inns and this is again a fairly basic expectation.

With a few practical improvements, such as a more permanent screen for the toilet, this would make Shepherd House much more attractive to other customers. We had a lovely stay but I’d only recommend with a few “user bewares”!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank EMH405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews