We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad language & attitude”

Silver Blades Ice Rink
Ranked #9 of 20 things to do in Gillingham
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Came to the ice rink with a friend to discuss the possibility of having a forthcoming adult birthday gathering in the bar. The bar is pleasant, reasonably priced. Bar staff friendly & polite. Good view to watch others on the ice. Bar background music not too loud. We thought it will be ideal, can skate for a short time then go in to the bar for a few drinks. These thoughts changed when a young member of staff (Claire-on her name badge) came in
sat down discussing a future night out she was arranging. Her language was absolutely disgusting, blue to say the least. Totally disrespectful about customers, even though we could hear most of her conversation. We were going to complain at the time, but reception staff told us that Claire was the duty manager, not much point complaining about her. Not a very good example for the youngsters who are using the rink in our opinion. Have moved the party to another venue.

7  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately, despite repeatedly asking you to confirm which day and time you visited, you cannot remember when you visited or at what time. If you are able in the future to remember, then please get in contact so we can investigate your claim. I have reviewed CCTV footage for a number of days that you think you may have visited, but so far nothing substantiates what you have written. We also advise visitors to the rink that if a matter is not to your satisfaction, speak to a staff member or manager(s) on duty who will be happy to help.
Thank you.
Silver Blades Ice Rink Gillingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ice hockey"
in 8 reviews
"birthday party"
in 17 reviews
"polar bears"
in 5 reviews
"figure skating"
in 3 reviews
"party bags"
in 4 reviews
"my son"
in 11 reviews
"new management"
in 3 reviews
"arcade machines"
in 2 reviews
"no lift"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic party"
in 2 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"public skating"
in 2 reviews
"downstairs cafe"
in 2 reviews
"wedges"
in 2 reviews
"local talent"
in 2 reviews
"absolutely everything"
in 2 reviews
"alice in wonderland"
in 2 reviews
Filter

146 - 150 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I visited the rink over Easter with my children and nephews. The lady at the till was really helpful and suggested the cheapest family ticket to buy which even included a meal deal. The choice of food was excellent we were a little disappointed they had run out of cheese in the restaurant but it was the end of the week so I guess sometimes these things happen. We enjoyed our day so much we are thinking of having lessons, we asked how much they would cost on the way out and again the lady at the till was very good at explaining the options and discounts for families. Only bad bit was the skates are not the most comfortable but great for the cost of the hire!

1  Thank Stanito2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver-Blades-Gil, Front Office Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi - Thanks for the review. I'd glad you and your family had fun at the rink. Ice skating is a wonderful hobby and we have kids and adults of all ages who enjoy learning to skate and practicing their new skills. Hope you continue to enjoy visiting the rink. Many thanks - Silver Blades Ice Rink Gillingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited Silverblades for a number of years but have seen a positive improvement since it came under new ownership and in particular these past few months under the new management. Staff are friendly and courteous, food has improved immensely - healthy options now available and the ice Marshall's are professional, helpful caring and kind! The real gem at this rink is the calibre and quality of the coaching staff. We are so fortunate to have some of the best coaches in the country, caring and professional at all times and are a really fantastic influence on their students regardless of ability. There are regular learn to skate courses and fantastic shows on a regular basis - and all right here in the medway towns! Parking is safe and free and the location could not be better with easy access to the main routes and motorways. It is really great to see how caring and determined the new management and staff are to ensure every customer has a fantastic experience on each and every visit.

Thank Axis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver-Blades-Gil, Front Office Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear your feedback and I'm delighted that you enjoy coming to the rink. Many thanks - Silver Blades Ice Rink Gillingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

When we arrived for a party, there were 3 members of staff at reception who turned to see us walk in then promptly ignored us!
We waited several minutes before my friend said 'Excuse me' loudly, then they thought it reasonable to ask if we needed help
The girl who took the food order was fairly polite though
Ice rink is ice - lots of penguins for those who couldn't skate and the food was quite nice
Silverblades even provide party bags so good VFM if you have a party

2  Thank keycamp-reveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver-Blades-Gil, Front Office Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi - Thank you for your review. I hope the party went well and that's great news that you feel our parties are value for money. We do hope that all our customers have a nice time with us, enjoy the food and have fun on the ice. I'm sorry to hear that your initial welcome at reception feel short of what we would have expected. We will be bringing your feedback to the attention of our reception staff in order to address this issue.
Many thanks - Silver Blades Ice Rink Gillingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I really dont know where to start with this place. When ever I have gone the staff just do there job without much care of the customer. The food is shabby with no hope of improvement. As for the location... could be placed better as it is in an industrial estate. I would love for this place to be better as it used to be better.

5  Thank specialized_lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver-Blades-Gil, Front Office Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi - Thanks for the comments.

Within the rink we do work hard to make it a pleasant experience for visitors, and as a staff member myself I can assure you that we do value our customers and care about them having an enjoyable time. In my experience this attitude does extend across the rink from our receptionists through to cafe staff, skate hire and our ice marshals, with many people returning to the rink on a regular basis.

We have a wide variety of food within the cafe and have recently extended our menu to include jacket potatoes, pasta, freshly baked cookies etc. And we do look to continually improve our range and quality of food.

Regarding the location of the rink, whilst it isn't within a busy and congested town centre, the advantage is that it is easily and quickly accessible from motorways and local main roads and has ample free parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Blades Ice Rink also viewed

 

Been to Silver Blades Ice Rink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing