We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was better in the 80's - so run down now!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Leisure Park

The Strand Leisure Park
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Gillingham
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“It was better in the 80's - so run down now!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I prefered it in the 80's. The boating pool was there, the paddling pool area was there. All gone a bit dull and boring now..such a shame..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    46
    40
    13
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Let's all go down the strand. Oh no no no”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The strand could be lovely instead it has out of date equipment dirty toilets a run down swimming pool and I hate to think what's in the sand pit.. Medway council should be ashamed of themselves what could be a wonderful meeting place for family and friends is just a place for drug addicts and alcoholics to use. Even a coat of paint and a clean up of leaves and litter would help improve the place. As a young girl of eleven I used to go to the swimming pool at 6.30 am now I don't think I would go there at all and certainly not by myself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Park beside the Medway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

A large green back with views of shipping on the river. Parking available. Toilets on site. Ideal family outing on a sunny day

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham Kent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Childhood gone!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I have lived by the strand for years and I used to visit every day as a kid and always had so much fun! The place is now full of chavs and dirty. So many of the good attractions were removed and it really is somewhere I wouldn't want to go anymore. Rubbish everywhere and people drinking alcohol openly in front of children! Ashamed I live so close by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Rosiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun day out with the kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

There is a large park, a kiddies paddling pools, a larger swimming pool with lazy river (small entry fee) , on the sea front, a cafe, an ice cream van, picnic space, good for dog walking and an old kiddies little minature railway train ride (small fee) . Worth a day out with the family!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bombingblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strand Leisure Park also viewed

 

Been to The Strand Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing