We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but few let downs shame could be bril !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but few let downs shame could be bril !!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

What a big lovely hotel,loads parking great location on arrival,seems like a Spanish hotel staff very helpful food was very nice god choice on menus etc little,bit of road noise but not too bad don't like toilet dispensers that give one square at a time big hate of mine haha !! Mostly room acceptable but tired on decor etc and cleaners not earning there money should be cleaner in my yes than it was thus is the most important factor to get right if you want returning customers refurb would do wonders :-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Air-con-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are currently refurbishing all of our bedrooms, and this should be completed very soon.
I hope you will visit us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    246
    102
    52
    50
See reviews for
151
200
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight en route to our destination. We had paid only £35 for a double room, en suite plus breakfast on a Sunday night

The hotel was in need of some TLC in places - but it was very clean and bright. The bed was comfortable and there was a cubicle with a hot and powerful shower.

Being Sunday, there was no restaurant but a good choice of food at the bar. We really enjoyed our burgers and chips - I didn't ask, but the burgers appeared to be "home made" rather than pre packed. Breakfast was substantial with a choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices and continental or cooked choices - and good quality.

Staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful. All in all, a pleasant stay and I don't know how they did it for the money.
Note to Hotel - This is NOT an invitation to raise your prices as we may well return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
One of our main aims is to offer excellent value for money, and I can assure you we have no plans to raise our prices at the moment!
A lot of our food is homemade, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I'm writing this review whilst staying over for the night on a Business meeting early tomorrow.

The room is clean and tidy, with a nice fresh smell to the bedding. I ordered lasagna for my meal in the bar.....one of the nicest meals I've had in a while, very tasty ( thank you Chef), the waiter was helpful with a nice smile.

I will be using this hotel again and will recommend to my Colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your homemade Lasagne, and I will pass your comments onto our chef.
I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have visited this hotel many times, and have always received a great welcome, and have found that nothing is too much trouble. Will organise a special dinner in the restaurant for that important occasion, and if things do go wrong for the visitor, everyone of the staff will do everything in their power to easy the situation and to make sure that the client is looked after in a most unassuming way but with concern and professionalism. I will continue to use this hotel for my future visits to Gillingham. Food is excellent, staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms away from front of hotel are much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
It is important to us to be flexible in any situation, and this is something we can offer as an independent hotel. We do not have the fixed rules and rigidity of the larger chain hotels, and I hope this comes across to our guests.
I am glad you will continue to use our hotel, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to enhance your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydd kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

great hotel always made welcome very friendly staff very clean rooms food excellent
naval reunion catered for and always good fun.
stayed here many times and always been looked after well. close proximity to chatham
historic dockyard. 10 min to Gillingham football ground.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank submariner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
We look forward to getting to know our returning guests, as you are more than just a room number to us.
I hope you will continue to stay with us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed there 2-3 times in the last few months. On 2 occasions, people were smoking in adjacent rooms, on the second occasion I was moved to a better room, but the room wasn't totally ready for occupancy. Not enough towels and no cups. The room was cleaned the next day, but left a big wet towel on the sink! On checkout, I wasn't asked how my stay went but went ahead and volunteered my feedback. The receptionist was polite but defensive, saying "there's nothing we can do" and maintained her stance as I argued the case (I maintained I have never experienced this before, anywhere so someone's doing it right?!). So, given that feedback, everyone can expect more of the same - yummy! The hotel overall is cheap, reasonably clean and probably fine for one night (as long as you don't mind being "kippered"). Food is average. Personally I will look for other options when staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWR6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am very sorry that another guest was smoking and spoilt your stay with us. We are a non-smoking hotel, and we do our best to enforce this, but sometimes other people can be very inconsiderate and do not abide by the rules.
We did find out who was smoking in the room next to you, and they are no longer welcome at the hotel.
I do hope you will consider us again if you are in the area, and I can assure you that this was an isolated incident from one very selfish guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gillingham hotels

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Used for a wedding reception and had a number of rooms booked... failed to deliver catering as per booking (gave money back for missing items but no compensation for upset caused to wedding party) and rooms had numerous issues from no soap through to remains of sanitary towel wrappings over window sill.... AVOID we wished we had gone elsewhere

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBlobby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that your cupcakes were forgotten on your function, and as you state a full refund was given and you seemed very happy with this at the time. We did offer to provide you with some complimentary gateaux’s as a substitute, but you declined to take up our offer.
I do find it strange that none of the problems with the rooms were mentioned during your stay with us or at check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
309 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
0.8 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
348 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Property: The King Charles Hotel
Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing