We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The King Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night this week for my daughter's graduation at Rochester cathedral. It was good value for money. Downside was bed was too short. I am five foot ten and husband six feet, our feet were hanging out the end of the bed.(room 130) The room was too small with only a few inches to get round th bed. We found an empty juice carton on the radiator and hair in the bed. The bathroom was nice and fresh though. The staff friendly and helpful. The bacon at breakfast was overcooked, hard and tasteless. Overall it was just Ok and I do admire independent hotels for keeping their heads up against the big chains. So I would recommend people to give this hotel a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbsandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review
As you say, it is very difficult in this age trying to compete against the larger chain hotels, and I welcome the feedback from your stay.
We do have some larger beds, and if you had bought this to our attention, then we would of transferred you to another room.
I hope you enjoyed your daughters graduation at Rochester Cathedral, and I wish all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for The King Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

First impression was dirty and unclean, rubbish around the front entrance, reception was not much better, no smiles or eye contact, not even a hello or a smile.

The room was okay, not really clean or well laid out, this trend was followed throughout the week, bed not made properly, floor not hovered, beakers not replaced and on a few occasions no towels left

Eating in be it evening meals or breakfast was okay but nothing fantastic

The place well it seemed a little outdated and tried.

Overall you get what you pay for, yes its cheap but all very basic so do not expect any great service or rooms but if you are on a tight budget yes its the place to go but there is better nearby.

Would I stay there again, properly not I would spend that little bit more for better service

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the back of the hotel, if it looks out on the court yard it can be very noisy
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review

One of our main aims is to offer excellent value for money in the current climate, and I hope we are achieving that. Even so, we do not want to compromise on our service and I am sorry if you were not welcomed to the hotel in a friendly manor.

I do accept that you would rather pay more for your hotel, and I am sorry that you would not want to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights to visit our son in brompton barracks for armed forces day. Staff were superb, friendly and very accomodating. Despite hosting 4 weddings and a veterens banquet on saturday, our needs were not compromised. The hotel although a little tired in the decor was clean and felt more comfortable and atmospheric than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. the food was lovely and breakfast was equally good and served by very attentive staff. Would definately reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Why not visit the military museum next door which is seeped in history.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celly_green10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I agree that a visit to the Royal Engineers museum is something that everybody should try to do whilst they are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My partner and I came down from Newcastle to take part in the Dickens Festival and stayed in your hotel for 6nights which gave us time to see family as well.we enjoyed our stay as the location was good the breakfasts were good our room was great . We could see that a lot of work was going on painting etc; which i must say that what had been down made the hotel look a lot better.We were pleased with our stay and will be back again . The staff were pleasent and helpfull we say a big thankyou to them all.

Room Tip: plenty of room , clean quite comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review
I am always pleased to read that our staff were pleasant and helpful. As an independent hotel we like to treat everybody as if they were part of our family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful, as well. The area was beautiful and quiet. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review
Breakfast is such an important part of the day, and we feel that by offering a complimentary breakfast we are setting our guests off with the best possible start.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved it here :) my partner and I stayed for five nights, was very cosy. The breakfast was good, nice selection. Staff are very polite. Area okay, nice shopping centres a few miles away, we went to blue water shopping centre, although there are much closer ones. Will be back in a few months time, thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review
The best possible compliment we can receive is when a guest lets us know that they are returning to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in King Charles for one night. Racheal and Steve were really helpful and friendly, check in was quick and efficient. For the price we paid we received a really good deal. Room was nice, bed - comfortable. Breakfast was included which is always a good thing! Just one thing to improve - carpet. I do understand that this is a budget hotel, but carpet was extremely worn and had a burn marks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepFriedSakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review
We are currently refurbishing all of our bedrooms, and the carpets are due to be replaced towards the end of the year. I hope you will visit us again if you are in the area, and see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
3.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing