We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding at king charles hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“wedding at king charles hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

we held my daughters wedding at king charles hotel the only thing i can fault about it was when we first arrived we was told where to go for welcome drinks but no staff served any drinks and we had to ask where they were and go and get them ourselfs this could have been because we arrived a bit earlier than they expected us to but even so it was very poor service the actual room where we had our meal was decorated lovely and was spacious so no squeezing trying to get past other tables the food was excellent and was served hot and quick no long waits between courses the staff we had were excellent but i was told by guest some staff where a bit rude and unhelpful .
the check in staff where lovely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them we had a family room which was lovely and clean although a bit dated in decor but spacious and very useable and we had nice large shower on the whole it was a very nice hotel and we had a lovely stay

Room Tip: the family room was very usable with a separate room for the kids it has a nice large shower and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review
I am glad your daughter had a good wedding reception at the hotel, and I am sorry if there was a small mix up with the timing of your welcome drinks.
I hope they have a long and happy marriage, and come back again to celebrate their anniversary with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    245
    101
    52
    50
See reviews for
150
199
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had our wedding breakfast and reception here but also stayed for the weekend in the bridal suite and had family stay in other rooms for the night.

Fiona was amazing from start to finish with our wedding, and on the day when i came down unwell she couldn't do enough to help. Apparently there were some rude members of staff but we never came across these, everyone we encountered were cheerful and happy.

The room was clean and tidy but as a bridal suite and for the money i think they could of made it a bit more special, even just a chocolate on the pillows or something. otherwise can't fault the room.

The food was lovely, service was average, at busier times was slightly slower but not too long a wait. slightly overpriced though.

for where the hotel is though it's surprising how nice it is inside, would definitely recommend to other people for weddings or functions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review
I am glad you enjoyed your wedding breakfast at the hotel. We have been holding wedding receptions here for over twenty five years, and it is always nice when a bride recommends us to others. As an independent hotel we feel that word of mouth recommendations are the best review that we can ask for.
I hope you will come and have your 25th wedding anniversary with us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Like to support family run establishments - but this was awful! Room was hot - window hardly opened - perhaps to stop people jumping out? Bathroom had a horrid pong and decor truly terrible - even by 1970s standards. corridors and communal areas in need of refurbishment - people expect more these days - and it wasn't even cheap enough to compensate. To cap it all the WiFi wasn't working - so I couldn't finish some vital work documents. Staff really tried to help and were kind and caring. Breakfast was surprisingly nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review
I am sorry if you found the room to be hot, but we did have some exceptionally hot evenings this year. In response to this we do now offer free fans to all of our guests, and if you had mentioned to reception that your room was too hot, they would of gladly bought a fan to your room.
Unfortunately the Wi-Fi is something that we do not always have control over. I believe that there was a fault with our service provider, and there was nothing we could do at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gillingham hotels

Chatham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had our wedding Ceremony and wedding breakfast all at the King Charles The service was top-quality as was the wedding coordinators Debbie and Fiona we could not asked for anything more. Good value for money everyone loved the day. Food was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tflowers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review
The most important thing about a wedding is making the bride happy, and helping her to enjoy her special day. I am glad we achieved this, and I hope you will come and see us again the next time you are celebrating a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the King Charles hotel with our 2 daughters in a family room for a weekend away. The family room had a double bed and bunk beds and an en suite shower room. All areas were clean. The room was a little hot overnight- but then there were 4 of us in the same room. Reception staff were friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Waiting staff at breakfast were also polite and helpful - and we were very impressed by the great vegetarian breakfast offered as a standard option at breakfast! Overall we felt this hotel offered great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klever-kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review
We do try to offer value for money, and it is always good to read that our guests appreciate that.
Breakfast is a very important meal, and we like to cater for all diets wherever possible.
I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful, and I hope you will visit us again if you are staying in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I appreciate you are a family run hotel and improvements are being made however there is no excuse for dirty plates and glasses. Maybe enviromental health should inspect your kitchen. Please check your crockery before serving food to your customers

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review
I am sorry that you found your crockery to be dirty. I am sure if you had mentioned it to one of the waiting staff they would of changed it for you. We do have a high level of cleanliness, and I can assure you that this is not the normal level of service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The only good thing to say about this hotel is that the staff are making the best of a bad job, I really do feel for them! Corridors smell, the carpet is old with cigarette burns (non smoking room??) The shower is too small, no air conditioning, thick quilt on the bed and no sheet in this weather???? Fire doors need to be on stiffer hinges so that they don't slam every two minutes, it needs a good lick of paint, small portions for the cooked breakfast, you can get bigger portions at a side of the road cafe! Would not recommend at all................................

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephendegiorgio, Manager at The King Charles Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review
I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay at the King Charles Hotel. We are a family run hotel and rely on word of mouth recommendations in this age of large corporate chains taking over.
We are in the process of replacing all of our carpets, and we hope to have these finished by the end of the year.
Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning, but we have now taken the decision to offer free fans to all of our guests.
We offer a complimentary breakfast, which includes buffet service for Cereal, Fresh Fruit, Yoghurt and Tea/Coffee and table service for a full English Breakfast consisting of Egg, Bacon, Sausage, Hash Brown, Baked Beans & Toast. I am not sure how much you expected for breakfast, but I do disagree that our complimentary breakfast is small.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gillingham
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
308 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
0.8 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
345 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Charles Hotel

Property: The King Charles Hotel
Address: Brompton Road, Gillingham ME7 5QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gillingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gillingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The King Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel is a privately owned, modern, 97 bedroomed hotel, with a comfortable restaurant, bar, conference and banqueting facilities. Situated in the heart of Medway and Maritime Kent, the King Charles Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London and the Channel Ports via the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, we are also an ideal base to explore Kent and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Hotel
King Charles Gillingham
The King Charles Hotel Gillingham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing