We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not order belly pork!”

The Green Cross Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Goudhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not order belly pork!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I visited this restaurant after being assured of it's good food. My wife ordered very well presented scallops; I however ordered belly pork. I have eaten this dish in another restaurant in the village and thoroughly enjoyed it so do know how it should be presented. At this restaurant it was a wobbly slice of fat with over grilled crackling that resembled and tasted like cheap crisps. I did not eat much of it and when I was asked how I enjoyed it and replied that did not, I got excuses and an explanation of how it is always fatty. I will not visit again and can cook better myself.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    45
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and great company”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spent an evening here for the first time and arrived during a power cut. Despite this the bar was lit with candles which made for a great atmosphere. Food was lovely and enjoyed the company of the owners at the end of the evening. Really great place and will definitely be going again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJLlewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Went to Goudhurst to visit an old friend. He suggested, being a long established local, that we visit the Green Cross Inn, as they serve the best fish dishes this side of Padstow! We were not disappointed and only wish that we had more time to enjoy the fabulous menu. Being lunch time we opted for the Avocado Crab Bake, delicious and a meal in itself. The staff were courteous and efficient, the coffee fantastic! All too often some good restaurants fail at the final hurdle, the coffee, fortunately not the Green Cross Inn. Life is too short for bad coffee!

Helpful?
Thank Jet_Lagg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic. Definitely returning”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I meet up with a very dear friend once a month and we have tried every restaurant in Goudhurst except here. We decided to give it a go and I must say the gentleman behind the bar was friendly, polite, courteous and madw us feel very welcome.
Obviously Tuesday's are not the busiest of nights; we were the only ones there, ut soon filled up andi must say the sea bass was excellent. My friend had the spaghetti with beef and it fell apart. Good choice of wines, beer and soft drinks.
Amazing choice on the menu. That impressed I've decided to take hubby there for valentine's day so hoping to get a truly 10/10 service and food again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have had several visits here mainly with elderly relatives for a decent lunch.

My last visit was a disaster. My mother ordered sole at £32. It arrived dry as a crisp with the edges turned up and going brown. Looked as if it had spent a lot too long on the hot plate. She left part of it uneaten.

I had paella and got food poisoning. I was as sick as a dog for a week and have developed an allergy to prawns in consequence. Every time I eat a prawn I am now violently ill having managed them for 60 years with no problems.

Safe to say that will be my last visit to the Green Cross.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Cross Inn also viewed

 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Green Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing